We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$145
Croke Park Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Academy Plaza Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$236
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$301
US$241
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,065)
Filter reviews
4,067 results
Traveller rating
2,728
768
350
148
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,728
768
350
148
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roomirish constitutionbeautiful hoteltrinity collegest stephensfive star hotelmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetemple barconciergeirelandmarriottdoormanluxury
Filter
Updating list...
3,441 - 3,446 of 4,067 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Beautiful hotel with a perfect location. However, the rooms were so small! Wonderful hotel bar and restaurant. However, you're better off venturing on the outskirts to find something more reasonably priced and friendlier.

Room Tip: Ask the size of your room!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calitravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Shelbourne Hotel and your time in sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and our location.
I am however concerned by your remark regarding the size of our rooms and our prices.
For means of explanation only, our prices are similar to, if not slightly below, the Dublin benchmark and as you can imagine our first category of rooms is smaller than the others.
Nonetheless, according to our availability, we try to offer an upgrade to our Deluxe rooms.
Please do not hesitate to contact me for your future reservations. I really hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Shelbourne Hotel to show you the good atmosphere you have apparently been missing in our bars and restaurant.


Kindest Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Shelbourne is a beautiful hotel in the best possible location. You feel like you're stepping back in time to another age. The rooms are fine enough. I think I ended up in a smaller room with a tiny bathroom and no view whatsoever. The beds were super comfortable and the TV had plenty of channels to choose from. The floor in the hallways were uneven and there were many twists and turns to get to the elevator. The food options were out of this world. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. We had dinner at the hotel and we couldn't ask for better food. We also unexpectedly had a tea service brought to our room the first night we arrived. It was a nice touch. WiFi was very expensive (I think 20 Euros for 24 hours) per day and quite a disappointment when other hotels seem to have complimentary WiFi these days. Many landmarks were easily walkable from the Shelbourne and there was a great park across the street.

Overall, I was happy to have stayed at the Shelbourne and could not have asked for a more centralized hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvchicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location and the quality of the food.

From breakfast to dinner, we work continuously to ensure that the quality is above your expectations. I will not miss to share your comments with the team!

As mentioned on a previous comment on Tripadisor and for means of explanation only, from the beginning of 2012 we will be offering a complimentary Internet in our entire Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne Hotel in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had been looking forward to our first visit to Dublin and our stay at this Marriott property. We booked for one week. We left to the Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, after one night.

The hotel was very noisy. We arrived at 2pm and our rooms were not ready until 6pm!!! Old property that has been converted to a hotel and they added a connecting building, so finding our rooms was like looking through a maze. Rooms were small, but clean.

The executive lounge was filthy and smelly. There was food leftovers from at least 24 hours before and coffee cubs filled with cigarett butts. The Computer did not work nor did the phone. The lounge had no bottled water, soda or other drinks. The newspapers were 2 days old.

The hotel's fitness center was basically one small converted bedroom with only TWO (2) tredmills!!!

We reported this to the front desk staff, who promised address our complaints, but did nothing. This property is not worthy of the name Marriott.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We have noted your comments regarding your recent experience at The Shelbourne Hotel.

Your feedback is extremely important to us and I would like to call you at a convenient time for you to follow up on your visit and comments. I would be grateful if you could grant us a few minutes of your precious time.

I hope we can connect soon and we are looking forward to hearing from you.

Most Sincerely,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I expected the Shelbourne to be an "old feeling" five star hotel that was "past peak". But in fact it is not like that at all. I was really impressed at how well run the hotel is, how clean it is, and how beautiful it is. I had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justicieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear Guest,

This is a great feedback about The Shelbourne Hotel, thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression with all!
Indeed, since its founding in 1824, The Shelbourne Hotel has been magnificently restored to its former splendour in 2007. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was our first stop in Ireland. The hotel is very beautiful and the location is perfect. We had requested a king size bed, but were put in a very small room with a queen bed and tiny bathroom--too small for a tub. Our travel companions fared much better with a lovely large room with a king size bed, huge closet space and bathroom. The staff was very helpful and accommodated our request for an early check in.

INTERNET ACCESS WAS A RIDICULOUS $28.00 (20 euro) PER DAY! We found this extremely annoying and opted to go to a nearby "Insomnia" to take advantage of the free WiFi (and fabulous coffee).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beth8820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Shelbourne Hotel and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.

As means of explanation only, we do our best to honor all requests not guaranteed according to our availability and let me assure you that the matter with the Internet charges has being reviewed by our Management. We are still committed to a corporate Internet contract that expires at the end of this year. Therefore, from the beginning of 2012 we will be offering a complimentary Internet in our entire Hotel.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back to The Shelbourne Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to prepare your future stay.

Yours sincerely,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews