We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$122
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$289
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$222
US$191
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Generator Hostel Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,064)
Filter reviews
4,065 results
Traveller rating
2,727
768
349
148
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,727
768
349
148
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roomirish constitutionbeautiful hoteltrinity collegest stephensfive star hotelmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetemple barconciergeirelandmarriottdoormanluxury
Filter
Updating list...
3,071 - 3,076 of 4,065 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Fantastic in all respects. Very nice and helpful staff. Spacious rooms. Just about the best beds and bedding in all my travels. Great breakfast buffet. Perfect location. I can't speak highly enough. Only negative was that the gym/fitness room is under construction and all that was available was the barest of equipment in very small guest rooms, with no amenities. I assume that the gym/spa will be great when it is completed. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following on from your recent visit to The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff, the bedrooms and the overall service that you experienced. As you mentioned The Health Club & Spa at the Shelbourne has now officially opened and the feedback we have received so far from our residents and members has all been extremely positive. We now have a state of the art gym, a dance studio offering a wide range of alterntive exercise classes, a seventeen metre heated swimming pool and a sauna/steam room. Our Spa has six treatment rooms offering treatments using luxury products from the Pevonia, Elemis and Panpuri lines. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Not a standard Renaissance/Marriott - this property is a beautifully restored historic hotel in the best location in Dublin.

This was our first stop on a 3 week family trip. There was no trouble getting early check-in - no small thing when your flight arrives at 7 AM.

The staff, to a one, were outstanding. They never failed to go out of there way to make us feel welcome and valued. The rooms are a bit on the small side but are beautifully decorated with every comfort built in - they do not feel cramped in any way. The internet connection was speedy (comped for us as Plat. Marriott Members but VERY pricey otherwise). The bathrooms are very nicely kitted out and seemed quite modern compared to the more traditional bedrooms. They run 2 full maid services each day so the rooms were always meticulously clean.

I love to complain about hotel breakfasts (included with our room) but it was perfect. There was a broad selection at the buffet - even the pickiest among us (even the vegan) was happy. There is also a cook-to-order station manned by 2 or 3 cooks so little wait for custom orders. Try for a table in the back rooms away from the buffet - they have windows onto the street and are much brighter than the tables nearer the front.

The lobby is too small but beautifully done. There are only 2 chairs and 1 small sofa. It was difficult for our small group to congregate there before heading out. We found the main bar a bit too hectic for us - much preferred the low key Horseshoe. The drinks/food menus seemed to be mostly the same in both.

We hated to leave and all of us would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel is at the corner of 2 busy streets - and the noise goes late into the night. There are 2 sunlit courtyards as well as rooms that face north that are very quiet. The view of the park is pleasant but I would rather sleep undisturbed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterScott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Shelbourne Hotel experience in detail. Thank you for also choosing The Shelbourne Hotel as the starting point of your three week journey. I hope that you and your family had many adventures and have arrived home safe. I am glad you found that all your party were please by what was on offer throughout the hotel. All your wonderful comments will be passed on to the different departments so that they may see the results of their hard work.

If you should find yourself coming back to Ireland, please do not hesitate to contact me. I will be delighted to assist.

Warm regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Shelbourne is the perfect place to stay in Dublin but it does come with a fairly steep price tag. The location is ideal- right in the heart of the City Centre. You can walk to just about all the major attractions and it's very close to the shopping mega of Grafton Street. The staff is wonderful- friendly and very helpful. They often times went above and beyond to be of service. The rooms are a standard size but the beds are very comfortable. We even got to watch American football- they have a sports channel to accomodate the American viewers. Make sure you walk around St. Stephen's Green early in the morning- it is just beatiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Shelbourne Hotel and for your kind comments. The location of the hotel can be ideal for shopping or visiting attractions while staying in the city centre as Grafton street and Trinity College are within a few minutes walking distance.

We are glad that we could be of assistance and that we could go “above and beyond” for you. I concur with you about St. Stephens Green early in the morning; it can often be beautiful and serene. It was our pleasure to be your home away from home.


Kind regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, and I have to stay it is one of my absolute favourites.... and by far, the best in Dublin!

From the moment you enter this hotel, you are surrounded by luxury, welcoming smiles, and some of the best hospitality in the world! Every experience in this hotel is different, and in a positive way!

The bar's are fantastic, and always have a good, energetic and friendly crowd, and the staff of this amazing property are turely there to take care of you!

I cannot recommend this property enough...it is not just a hotel, it's an experience!

Room Tip: Request a room in the old part of the hotel, there are amazing views of the park, and the rooms are also a little quirky!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCork75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post these wonderful comments about your experience while staying with us here at The Shelbourne Hotel. The team and I are glad that you enjoy all the hotel has to offer and that when you stay it becomes a memorable experience each time.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was a beautiful hotel and the staff were most helpful. The room and hotel were clean and kept to perfection. The only thing that was a problem was the coffee service in the morning was really not a good situation. You had to wait until they brought out this machine which brewed one cup at a time. It took a long time for each cup and at the end the coffee was reallly bad. For the price of the room you would think they would improve on the situation. Also only one comfortable chair in the room.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you found the rooms kept to perfection.

I must say I am extremely shocked and surprised by your comments regarding the coffee in the morning. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this experience further with you and I can be contacted on rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you very soon.

Kind regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews