We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel has to be one of my favorite hotels - it is perfectly located in the heart of Dublin. Walking through the doors I was impressed by the staff in top hats, the courtesy of the people at the front desk, and the sheer beauty of the hotel decor, chandeliers, etc. Everything about this place impressed us - the room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is considered one of the best in Dublin for a reason!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderlustfullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent visit to The Shelbourne Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I will ensure that your wonderful comments regarding the beauty and upkeep of the building and the overall service levels throughout the hotel are communicated to all those concerned. We feel that the hotel is very unique and special and through providing excellent 5* service we want all of guests and visitors to have an exceptional experience. I am delighted that you found this to be the case. We hope to welcome you back through our doors again very soon.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,843 - 2,847 of 3,833 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Fantastic in all respects. Very nice and helpful staff. Spacious rooms. Just about the best beds and bedding in all my travels. Great breakfast buffet. Perfect location. I can't speak highly enough. Only negative was that the gym/fitness room is under construction and all that was available was the barest of equipment in very small guest rooms, with no amenities. I assume that the gym/spa will be great when it is completed. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following on from your recent visit to The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff, the bedrooms and the overall service that you experienced. As you mentioned The Health Club & Spa at the Shelbourne has now officially opened and the feedback we have received so far from our residents and members has all been extremely positive. We now have a state of the art gym, a dance studio offering a wide range of alterntive exercise classes, a seventeen metre heated swimming pool and a sauna/steam room. Our Spa has six treatment rooms offering treatments using luxury products from the Pevonia, Elemis and Panpuri lines. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Not a standard Renaissance/Marriott - this property is a beautifully restored historic hotel in the best location in Dublin.

This was our first stop on a 3 week family trip. There was no trouble getting early check-in - no small thing when your flight arrives at 7 AM.

The staff, to a one, were outstanding. They never failed to go out of there way to make us feel welcome and valued. The rooms are a bit on the small side but are beautifully decorated with every comfort built in - they do not feel cramped in any way. The internet connection was speedy (comped for us as Plat. Marriott Members but VERY pricey otherwise). The bathrooms are very nicely kitted out and seemed quite modern compared to the more traditional bedrooms. They run 2 full maid services each day so the rooms were always meticulously clean.

I love to complain about hotel breakfasts (included with our room) but it was perfect. There was a broad selection at the buffet - even the pickiest among us (even the vegan) was happy. There is also a cook-to-order station manned by 2 or 3 cooks so little wait for custom orders. Try for a table in the back rooms away from the buffet - they have windows onto the street and are much brighter than the tables nearer the front.

The lobby is too small but beautifully done. There are only 2 chairs and 1 small sofa. It was difficult for our small group to congregate there before heading out. We found the main bar a bit too hectic for us - much preferred the low key Horseshoe. The drinks/food menus seemed to be mostly the same in both.

We hated to leave and all of us would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel is at the corner of 2 busy streets - and the noise goes late into the night. There are 2 sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterScott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Shelbourne Hotel experience in detail. Thank you for also choosing The Shelbourne Hotel as the starting point of your three week journey. I hope that you and your family had many adventures and have arrived home safe. I am glad you found that all your party were please by what was on offer throughout the hotel. All your wonderful comments will be passed on to the different departments so that they may see the results of their hard work.

If you should find yourself coming back to Ireland, please do not hesitate to contact me. I will be delighted to assist.

Warm regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Shelbourne is the perfect place to stay in Dublin but it does come with a fairly steep price tag. The location is ideal- right in the heart of the City Centre. You can walk to just about all the major attractions and it's very close to the shopping mega of Grafton Street. The staff is wonderful- friendly and very helpful. They often times went above and beyond to be of service. The rooms are a standard size but the beds are very comfortable. We even got to watch American football- they have a sports channel to accomodate the American viewers. Make sure you walk around St. Stephen's Green early in the morning- it is just beatiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Shelbourne Hotel and for your kind comments. The location of the hotel can be ideal for shopping or visiting attractions while staying in the city centre as Grafton street and Trinity College are within a few minutes walking distance.

We are glad that we could be of assistance and that we could go “above and beyond” for you. I concur with you about St. Stephens Green early in the morning; it can often be beautiful and serene. It was our pleasure to be your home away from home.


Kind regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, and I have to stay it is one of my absolute favourites.... and by far, the best in Dublin!

From the moment you enter this hotel, you are surrounded by luxury, welcoming smiles, and some of the best hospitality in the world! Every experience in this hotel is different, and in a positive way!

The bar's are fantastic, and always have a good, energetic and friendly crowd, and the staff of this amazing property are turely there to take care of you!

I cannot recommend this property enough...it is not just a hotel, it's an experience!

Room Tip: Request a room in the old part of the hotel, there are amazing views of the park, and the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCork75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post these wonderful comments about your experience while staying with us here at The Shelbourne Hotel. The team and I are glad that you enjoy all the hotel has to offer and that when you stay it becomes a memorable experience each time.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
1.3 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
624 reviews
4.3 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: RM1,119 - RM5,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing