We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,208)
Filter reviews
4,208 results
Traveller rating
2,844
782
356
150
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,844
782
356
150
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saddle room lord mayor's lounge heritage room irish constitution beautiful hotel five star hotel st stephens main bar grafton street turn down service trinity college temple bar marriott concierge ireland doorman luxury
Filter
Updating list...
3,829 - 3,834 of 4,208 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My husband and I had an overnight in the Shelbourne on the 7th Nov, I booked through Priceline so got the room for £113. The room was clean, the bed super comfy and massive, and we didn't hear a peep through the night either. The check-in did take longer than I would expect at a 5 star hotel, only one person serving, but we got a king rather than queen room as well as an early check-in at 8am and late check out at 2pm - couldn't really have asked for anymore (well other than the heater in the room to be working).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiepScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I was traveling with two children and we found the staff at the Shelbourne Hotel to be very friendly. On our second night, the hotel upgraded our room to a beautiful suite. The rooms were very clean with very comfortable beds and good water pressure in the bathroom. We enjoyed the beautiful lounge one evening while family came to visit. The staff was very accomodating as we had a large group. The location was good as we were able to do the city bus tour (hop on/hop off) and walk to Grafton Street, Trinity College,etc. We took a taxi to/from the airport for approximately 30 euros. Dan Dooley Car Rental arranged to deliver our car rental to the hotel which was a great help as we did not need the car the first day in Dublin. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to staying at The Shelbourne Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

While the hotel is well located, there was absolutely no service during our 3 night stay and the staff couldn't care less. When we first arrived we had to wait 45 minutes for someone to even give us a menu in the lounge and this was after complaining 3 times. This set the stage for the level of service we recieved throughout our stay. The concierge could not locate any of the resturants or activities that I had selected from tripadvisor.com before leaving NY and the one place he suggested and reserved for us did not have our reservation when we got there. Our room looked out onto an air shaft with a perfect view of the linens stacked in the linen closets on each floor. Noone exchanged the normal pleasantries that you expect, like good morning when you're leaving for the day, good evening when you retirn from your activities. Overall this hotel was very supoosed to be very chi-chi but was by far the least pleasant place we've stayed in during our trip and we would definately NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank december31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My husband and I live in Europe so we went to Dublin for a quick getaway. We used Marriott point to book a night at the Shelbourne. We arrived in the evening, took the Aircoach bus to the Kildare stop and walked about 1/2 a block to the hotel.

We were immediately greeted by a very friendly lady at the front desk and served fresh lemonade and pistacchio cake while we waited for our room keys. We found the service to be very helpful. We asked for directions to several local attractions, and they were great at giving us directions.

We had one of the regular rooms (not a suite). It was slightly smaller than any Renaissance we've stayed at in the U.S., but it was extremely clean and very well done. We were hoping for a separate bath and shower, but it was all-in-one. However, it was the best shower we've seen in Western Europe. We had a mid-week stay so there probably weren't as many people in the hotel as the weekends, but our room was incredibly quiet; we didn't hear street noise or even anyone else on our hallway. The view from our side wasn't much, but it wasn't a big priority for us either.

Because we used Marriott points, we didn't get the complimentary breakfast so we opted not to eat at the hotel, but went for Starbucks instead. The hotel did have complimentary coffee available downstairs though. We also were a little surprised that you had to pay for wi-fi.

We thought the location was fabulous. We loved being across the street from St. Stephen's Green and just blocks away from Grafton St., Trinity College, the National Gallery, etc. Overall, a great stay for us; we'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank listmaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Despite a nightmare getting to The Shelbourne from the airport in the middle of the Dublin marathon, we had a wonderful time on this birthday/wedding anniversary trip. Our room had a nice view of the far corner of St. Stephen's Green, a comfortable bed, a large bathroom and a nice surprise left for us on our first night to celebrate our special occasion. Free coffee is only available in the lobby until 8 am (no coffee maker in the room.) The 29 euro buffet breakfast was not included in the price for our room--we didn't pay that much for most of our other meals, but we were too tired when we arrived to worry about the price. Great location, easy access to Hop On/Hop Off bus and other transportation, easy walk to Grafton St.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyandSteve60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews