We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.27*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Ranked #1 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bleak old jail was notorious in the 19th century for its harsh treatment of prisoners.
Hicksville, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This si a very interesting tour. We had a wonderful tour guide. I didn't know In the name of the father was filmed here. That's one of my favorite films and it was awesome to be standing in there. It does get cold so dress warm

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank zazuHicksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,696
    4,066
    840
    174
    172
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very informative re Irish history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

good tour and good value for money. parking is an issue

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JOBrien_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting and straight to the point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I went with a college group and we went for the day. It lasted about 1 hour and we went through the prison and the outside of it where a tour woman/man tells you stories and facts about the jail. It was only 2 euros and an interesting place to visit. I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EsotericOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

A good trip through some of Dublin's social and political past, culminating why the Gaol was built, its reforms and its prisoners. Really worth a visit.
What would be really good for the future would be to have a living museum similar to the working / living museum in the Black Country England

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Such great atmosphere with a fantastic and very informative guide. You will learn a lot about Ireland's troubled history. Highly recommend it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Burex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilmainham Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Kilmainham Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing