We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and Informative Tour”
Review of Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol
Ranked #1 of 515 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bleak old jail was notorious in the 19th century for its harsh treatment of prisoners.
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed this tour. Our giude, Anne, was outstanding. She knew her stuff and was very entertaining. I learned so much about Irish history and their independence. We were taken through various buildings and were never bored. I highly recommend doing this tour. It was the most informative and entertaining tour we had the whole time we were in Ireland. We ate a bit of lunch at the cafe there.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Suzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"political prisoners"
in 302 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 1,400 reviews
"old jail"
in 207 reviews
"irish independence"
in 322 reviews
"easter rising"
in 867 reviews
"book in advance"
in 562 reviews
"great tour"
in 1,082 reviews
"interested in irish history"
in 278 reviews
"hour tour"
in 210 reviews
"ireland's history"
in 425 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 365 reviews
"history lesson"
in 255 reviews
"interesting place"
in 203 reviews
"hop on hop off bus"
in 331 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 242 reviews
"city centre"
in 205 reviews
"dolls"
in 1,224 reviews
Filter

3,370 - 3,374 of 23,770 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

This is a really poignant place to visit and quite difficult to describe in a review. Both my husband and I were quite affected by it. It's well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Went to Kilmainham on 19/10/17 and loved every bit of it.

Tour guide was amazing and very knowledgeable.

It's so much more than what I thought.

Admission was €8 adult & €6 OAP's and worth every penny.

I would 100% recommend this tour to anyone.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Having missed the tour last year due to popularity of attraction, this was top of the list on our things to do this visit. Attraction still in high demand, but managed to get tickets through our hotel. Our guide Patrick obviously knew his stuff, and made historical dates very interesting. Very poignant, interesting visit

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MoiraG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful tour. Roy was brilliant. There was hair standing on the back of my neck at times as he described in great detail some of the history of this wonderful place. Unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilmainham Gaol also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kilmainham Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing