We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location”

Review of Moffatt Cottage

St Patrick's, home to Johnathan Swift author of Gulliver's Travels, two minutes away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Patrick's, home to Johnathan Swift author of Gulliver's Travels, two minutes away.
South-facing patio, looking into window of small bedroom. Double bedroom with ladder to loft space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
St Patrick's, home to Johnathan Swift author of Gulliver's Travels, two minutes away.
South-facing patio, looking into window of small bedroom.
Double bedroom with ladder to loft space
Livingroom and dining table through to kitchen at rear
Livingroom with stove/dining table looking to the front of the cottage.
Stephen's Green, a gift from The Arthur Guiness family to Dublin. Ten minutes walk
Single bedroom.
The galley style bathroom.
The Galley style kitchen opening onto the south-facing patio.
The front of Moffatt Cottage looking out onto a completely enclosed tiny square
One of many playful sculptors dotted about the Botanic Gardens, a short bus ride from a nearby stop.
A couple take in the sunset over a drink on the Grand Canal, ten minutes away.
One of many popular traditional music establishments in bustling Temple  Bar, five minutes away.
Five minutes away, the casket containing St Valintine's remains, site of pilgimage for lovers
The awe inspiring Guiness Hop Store Glass Bar  towering over the city, just minutes away.
Killiney Hill overlooking panaromic coastal & mountain views.
The stunning grounds of the Irish Museum of Modern Art just a  short walk away
A wedding at Trinity College Front  Square five minutes away
The Happeny Bridge spanning the Liffey, just a few minutes stroll away.
Tide out on Sandymount Strand just a short bus ride from town, birdwatchers' delight .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
onstage95...
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was perfect for our needs. We were able to walk to all the spots in Dublin that we wanted to explore. Breakfast was the only meal we prepared in the cottage, so I can't address how well equipped the kitchen was, but it seemed to have all the basic equipment. Is the place fancy? No. Is it quaint, comfortable, quiet, roomier than a hotel, with a host who will meet you at the bus stop and walk you to the cottage? Yes. We hope to stay there again on our next visit to Dublin.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Hi, Thanks so much for your kind words and so quickly as well!!! As with all our reviews they are very very much appreciated. Thanks again for taking the trouble... and for leaving the cottage so clean!!!

Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendaCon...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Cottage with Everthing”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Sean was a very helpful and welcoming host.

This small cottage has everything you could want for a stay in Central Dublin. Immaculately clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The outside south facing courtyard is a bonus you rarely get in the center.

It is genuinely a 10- 15 minute walk to all the main central attractions but also has shops, cafes, bars and restaurants around the corner.

This will definitely be our come to place for future visits to Dublin. All in all a remarkable find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and character of cottage
Liked least: There were no negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rongorong...
minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming, quaint, and quiet, yet close to everything,”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautifully restored/renovated shoemaker's cottage, full of character, on a private courtyard near the city center. In the Liberties, very near Christ Church and St. Patrick's Cathedral, within easy walking distance of Trinity College, Temple Bar, Grafton Street, and countless pubs and restaurants. Interesting neighbors, super-friendly host. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynns904
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant - central and comfortable”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was exactly as described - better, in fact. It's small and cosy, but with high ceilings and skylights so there was a lot of light, even on a December afternoon. Set in a close, it's magically quiet. You're more apt to hear birdsong than the noise of a car.

Sean was lovely - easy to contact and happy to answer any questions.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rollotoma...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“once again exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tthis was our third trip to Dublin and of course chose Moffatt Cottage. LIttle late with the review as I thought my daughter had already completed. Sean is an excellent host and I cannot say enough about the location but it is perfect. Travelled with myself, daughter and niece. We had more that enough room and a 4th person would not be impossible. This year Sean added an additional 2 seater sofa but we suggested he remove the coffee table as it made things in the livingroom a bit tight......I wonder if that happened :)
I have recommended this place to numerous friends and family and when they tried to book the cottage unfortunately it was unavailable so I suggest you book as early as possible.
As I have mentioned before everything is close enough to walk and it literally is in the perfect location to all sights of Dubllin. If arriving by plane take the 747 bus and get off at Christchurch. Very convenient and cheap.
Thanks for everything Sean and I know I will be back again. Cheers from Catherine, Erin, and Jessica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quaintess of property and neighbours.
Liked least: sometimes it is nice to take a bath
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing