We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of Inn on the Liffey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on the Liffey
Ranked #48 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here the weekend of Friday 11th August 2017 until 13th August 2017 so i can take part in the Dublin Rock n Roll Half Marathon.
Nice location opposite the liffey and minutes away from Temple Bar, lovely staff, nice breakfast, decent rooms. A little expensive, but would stay again and i would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Inn on the Liffey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Basic rooms, friendly staff, good choice of breakfast, But full irish breakfast was only lukewarm, good location bars/food and spar round corner, 5 mins over Bridge to full blown livelyness & fun, most bars around €7 a pint, Fantastic atmosphere in every bar we frequented, €25-€30 taxi from airport apparently more on Sunday takes 15 mins, local bus takes 45mins from airport €3

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in July.The hotel could do with a refurb but I guess that's reflected in the price. The staff were really friendly. We were not allowed to take our key out of the hotel which I thought was strange.

We climbed the many flights of stairs to our room which was on the 3rd floor.
The room was very clean with plenty of towels. It was quite small which didn't bother us. The bed was very comfy. The shower was small and you couldn't really move around however there was plenty of hot water. There was a hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. We had a view of the river which was lovely. I would suggest that the bed side drawers should be changed as the had stains and things stuck in them so we couldn't put our clothes in.
The main complaint for this room was the heat, it got to the point of unbearable and we couldn't wait to go out. We had the window fully open which made no difference. We asked at reception for a fan which they do not provide. If they would have provided a fan our stay would have been much more comfortable.

The breakfast was nice and had plenty of choice. The staff were really friendly.

The hotel is very cheap for Dublin and considering the location it's great value for money. It's just a 5min walk from Temple bar and a few minutes to Dublin castle, Jameson distillery, Dublinia and the cathedrals. I recommend buying a Dublin pass as this pays for all the entries to the attractions and the hop on hop off bus.
You can pick up the 747 bus back to the airport which is a few minutes walk from the hotel.
I would come back to this hotel due to its location and price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Loulabelle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

The photographs of this accomodation must have been taken a few years ago as the place is in need of redecoration. First impressions are of a seedy place. The outside decor and reception area is not inviting at all. Despite this the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The double room was extremely small. There was only room to walk down one side of the bed. There was nowhere to put luggage to open it except on the bed as the floor space was too small. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The bathroom needed some maintenance but the water was hot in a tiny shower.
There was a good selection for breakfast and the dining room staff were very attentive and friendly. Again the decor of the dining room, which is on the second floor, needs updating.
Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided in the rooms but the TV is complicated to operate without instructions. I was not happy that the fire door leading to the rooms was propped open with a door stop. Due to the age of the building the floor also slopes slightly which made walking to the bathroom in the night interesting even when sober!
The stay was average. A good location but would I stay there again...probably not.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 007topaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

After reading many reviews we weren't expecting much. Indeed the outside looks a bit in need of doing up. However, the room we got was small but clean. Plenty of clean towels. Only the shower cabin was not suitable for large people. Location is great, walking distance of Dublin city centre. We stayed 3 nights, no problems at all. There is no lift, but they tell you this when you book. The breakfast (full Irish if you want) is very good. I would recommend it if you only stay for a few nights to put your head down as we did. If you're looking for luxury this is not the place to go, but if you want a nice weekend in Dublin for a good price this is brilliant! I would go again! Good value for money.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the second floor, so was our room, so that was great. No good view but we were not b...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#13 of 149 in Dublin
296 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#23 of 120 in Dublin
413 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#7 of 120 in Dublin
695 reviews
Grafton Guesthouse
#53 of 149 in Dublin
212 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Liffey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Liffey

Address: 21 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: RM377 - RM993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn on the Liffey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Liffey Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing