We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Boy were we a hot, sticky mess after the 8.5 hr flight from Atlanta but thanks to the smiling, helpful staff we were able to check in early at 930am and get into our room. Yes there is construction but we were not impacted by it on the fourth floor. Our night was booked through hotels.com and it all worked out. Once this place is put in order, it will live up to it's grandeur. The other bonus is that the location is one of the main pickup locations for a variety of excursions from Dublin and across the street is tourism center, currency exchange, and one of few locations you can purchase visitor Leap cards.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 4,457 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

The rooms comfortable and clean.the food was excellent and all the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Well located for all public transport,and a lot of the sites are within walking distance

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank eddiesummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel should have notified us that there is construction happening in the hotel that causes loud noise all day long. We tried to enjoy a drink in the bar two different times and had to leave. Is there a reason that you don't provide face cloths?
The breakfast choices are great but the dining room temperature made breakfast a poor experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience while we are working to improve and modernize our hotel in Dublin. We can assure you that when maintenance work is taking place in our hotels, it is only to improve our services and we do our best to minimize the impact on our guests’ stay.

We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services. We will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I booked this trip on Trip Advisor. This hotel wasn't much for a wow upon entry but the location of it and the parking situation were very reasonable for it's prime location. We had a group of 8 and they accommodated us with early check in. The rooms were clean and tidy and all well appointed. It was quiet. It was a very pleasant stay and I couldn't ask for a better location to explore dublin. The hop on hop off bus landed right outside and it was a walk to Temple Bar and to the main area - O'Connell Street. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendywalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

My Daughter and I stayed for a long weekend at the Riu Plaza and we couldn't fault it at all,we were met by lovely staff at the reception and taken to our room,the room was very spacious and had a double and a single bed,it was spotlessly clean.The hotel is in a great location,a five minute stroll to the shopping centres and many shops,and only about a 15 minute walk to Temple bar,We stayed on a room only basis and had our breakfast a couple of doors up the road at esquires which was good value,There is also a great pub right next door serving meals if you choose not to eat at the hotel,take plenty of spending money with you,Dublin is very expensive,2 halves of Fosters are roughly 7 euro but Temple bar is even more expensive at about 8 euro,You must try the Guinness of course, its great !!

Room Tip: We heard no complaints about any rooms,ours was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,687 reviews
0.7 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
1.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
2 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: RM449 - RM1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing