We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #105 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We booked this hotel for its location. The rooms were clean and the staff were accommodating with holding our luggage until our rooms were ready. We travelled with 11 people (family) and were glad to all be together. The staff were lovely but double check the directions they may give you to different landmarks. The parking is an issue and if you are unfortunate enough to need to park a car in Dublin you will need to use Arontts or Jarvis...$$. On-foot this location if ideal! We were happy taking taxis to/from Guinness but everything else is a walk.

Room Tip: Top floor my be quieter (farther from the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Its nothing flash but at about €140 per night its not what Id call real value but its comfortable, friendly and right in the heart of the action.
I suppose my biggest gripe would be the lack of water pressure in the shower as I love a nice hot, strong shower.
Theres no breakfast served but theres a plethora of places within easy walking distance with cost around €10 pp.
Theres a bar downstairs and I had my first Guinness in Ireland there. It went down well.
Theres trams at the door, buses and trains in easy walking distance. This is imperative as you dont want a car in Dublin. Theres nowhere to park and traffic is horrendous.
We stopped here as our first stop and then hired a car on leaving to travel around the rest of the country

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stuy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic experience in the Abbey Hotel! Staff were exceptionally friendly. The atmosphere is brilliant no request is to large or impossible! It was by far the highest level of customer service I have received from as hotel in a long time!! I will definitely be back! Great location central to everywhere with a choice of numerous luas stops a stone's throw away! Would definitely recommend this hotel when looking for a place to stay in Dublin, I know I will be recommending it to all. I have to give a special mention to Richie who endured a fantastic night was had by all

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Our experience with the Abbey Hotel didn't match the photos shown here. This is a very average collection of rooms in an old building. Nothing terrible. It's clean and VERY conveniently located. But, the rooms are quite small, the lift is slow and it's not that cheap.
I repeat, there is nothing really wrong with this place, but there is nothing special either. The bar downstairs is fun. And, I repeat, the location is very convenient for visiting Dublin. Easy walking to all the main downtown attractions.
Tip, don't pay the hotel 10 Euro for breakfast. They send you to a cafe down the road, where the most expensive item on the breakfast menu is 9 Euro.

Room Tip: Hard to say. Ask for one that looks like the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This is not a hotel, it is a selection of clean bedrooms. No restaurant at all, no breakfast facilities. The reception is very hit and miss, if you get the girl and ask her something [ train times etc ] she is very helpful, however if you get the young man just forget it and ask somewhere else. It is very central but too far to go for breakfast, the best is Annes Bakery two streets away. Would not use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolenewell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Sweeney
#120 of 152 in Dublin
79 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Castle Hotel
#54 of 152 in Dublin
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 152 in Dublin
2,414 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#63 of 152 in Dublin
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: 52 Middle Abbey Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: RM 366 - RM 1,495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is in the heart of Dublin city. Adjacent to Temple Bar, the Abbey Hotel Dublin is in the midst of the capital's favourite shopping, dining and entertainment district. The hotel boasts its own bar and restaurant, Monks at the Abbey - a true Irish cultural experience. This year Monks will premier a new and exciting Celtic Dance and light show. The Abbey Hotel is only a few steps from the Academy music venue and 300m from the GPO, the last stand of the 1916 rising, the Spire on O'Connell Street and the shops of Henry Street. Grafton Street and the Olympia Theatre are both 700m away. The rooms come with TVs, toiletries and tea/coffee. Whether you are visiting to enjoy local artisanal fare, enjoy some of the country's top historical attractions or to shop until you drop - The Abbey Hotel Dublin on Middle Abbey Street is the perfect place for you to stay. A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the Abbey Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing