We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
US$171
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stauntons on the Green(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$233
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cassidys Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
53
72
49
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
72
49
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple barwalking distance to almost everythingnight club next doorbar downstairsrooms are basicha'penny bridgerecommend this hotelgreat location and friendly staffo connell streetreally enjoyed our stay herefew minutes walkvery clean hotelnoise from the streetvisited dublincentral locationluas stophotel is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

In our first visit to Dublin as a couple we didn't exactly need somewhere too fancy to stay so that's why we decided to book the Abbey Hotel. However upon arrival the room itself was not as good as it looked in the photos and honestly we both felt a bit disappointed. The room just looked shabby and was in need of redecorating, especially the bathroom. The bed and furniture was fine and was actually quite comfortable during the night but as I said before it is very average and for the price we paid expected something a little better.
The receptionist was welcoming and helpful and the cleaners did a good job during the day so no complaints there!
The location of the hotel is good, right in the centre of the city. Just a short walk from transport links and the Temple Bar district and other attractions and shopping areas.
All in all a good hotel but made average by the fact it just looks rather shabby and definitely in need of the rooms having some decorating work done to them. We would stay again if this happened.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Stayed in this hotel recently while visiting Dublin for a gig in the 3Arena. It's basic, we paid for room only (no dinner/breakfast offered but it's within walking distance of a multitude of cafes/restaurants) & could not have been happier. Great value, room was warm & spotlessly clean and staff were really helpful & friendly. Also within walking distance of the city centre & Temple Bar. The 3Arena is about 6 Luas stops away & there's a stop a few minutes walk from the hotel. I've stayed in basic accommodation in Dublin in the past & been happy but will definitely stay here the next time I need an overnight stay in the city, the best by far. Didn't get to properly check out the bar downstairs but it looked really nice, maybe next time!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMUFC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We paid the equivalent of over $200 per night for a room that would have failed a Motel 6 inspection in the USA. There is no lobby, just a blonde in a booth at the front door...which you get buzzed into. The hotel is accessible directly from the bar ...no security there. Our room was modern enough but had cracked mirrors, crushed room door, and peeling bathroom wallpaper. Abbey is on a slightly seedy street but close to Temple Bar, its main redeeming value. For what we paid this is a joke.

Room Tip: I suppose the higher up you go the better
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtherBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

My family and I recently spend a night at the Abbey Hotel, Dublin before flying back to the US. The hotel is in a great location, well priced and much better than I had expected. We paid 111 Euro for the night for a room with a king and single bed. We were at the back of the hotel so the room was nice and quiet. There was no remote in the room so we had to call down to reception to get one, also no hairdryer which was a little strange. This hotel seems to be well used and busy. It was handy having the bar downstairs. Overall this place is great for an overnight when in Dublin as its located right in the center of the city and around the corner from the GPO and O’Connell Street where all the bus tours stop. It isn’t a luxury hotel but has the basics needed but nothing else. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends went to Dublin for my friends 40th birthday!

Firstly the staff here are very helpful and kind! They were very happy to help us!

Secondly the location is great! A very short walk away from temple bar and the Guinness factory!

The rooms were clean and perfect for a night or short stay!

We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were very helpful - they were able to get us wine after 11pm :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank itsclairex1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews