We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Old Punch Bowl

Old Punch Bowl
Ranked #19 of 2,804 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly excellent food of traditional Irish fare. Ideal for overseas travellers. Owner extremely friendly and knowledgeable

Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl116, Manager at Old Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Gad to hear that you enjoyed your visit here to The Old Punchbowl.. We have been here in the same spot since 1779 so there is understandably a lot of history attached to us and plenty of interesting stories too.

Hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Sláinte

The Old Punhbowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had my Daughters party there last night , staff were great , place was well set up , my Daugher had a great time and so did all her friends , highly recommened , thanks Catherine and all the staff

Thank _farrellycarol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl116, Manager at Old Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - we do appreciate it. The room your daughters party was held in is the same one that we use for The Seaview Sessions live concerts and is available to hire for a wide variety of events or parties..

Glad to hear that you had a good time'

Sláinte

The Old Punchbowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The old punch bowl has it all !

A family run business that cares about it's customers, friendly bar staff and top class food and drinks at very good prices.

They also have regular weekly trad music sessions and somehow manage to attract top musicians to play in the upstairs room for their Seaview session.

In a world of sterile corporate run gastropubs the Old Punch Bowl is a rare gift:
a Traditional Irish bar with great food and live music - what else could you ask for!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatrickCumiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl116, Manager at Old Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - we always like to hear feedback.

We now have two traditional Irish music nights every week - on a Tuesday and on a Saturday night - and they're free admission and very popular. The Seaview Sessions have in just the last year featured gigs by such musicians as Christy Moore, Luca Bloom and Brian Kennedy and our next concert in the Seaview Sessions will be Mary Coughlan playing two dates in April. Tickets always sell out early for these events.

Hopefully we'll see you here again for one of our music nights

Sláinte

The Old Punchbowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The Punch Bowl, an Institution in Black Rock with a long time history. It is an original pub as you can expect it. A Restaurant during the lunch time with a nice buffet and great taste and by night a Living room for some and a pub for others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank franz0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl116, Manager at Old Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for great review, it may be short but it perfectly captures the essence of The Old Punchbowl. Well done.

Sláinte

The Old Punchbowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Work close by and myself and my colleagues come here from time to time. We always have great crack. The atmosphere is always warming and welcoming. The food is very tasty and great portions. The staff are always friendly and we usually start a tab when we come as a group which is convenient. We are treated very well when we visit here. Please visit here if your are ever in the area!

Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punchbowl116, Manager at Old Punch Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to give us such a positive review. Feedback is always appreciated. I admit that I was particularly pleased to see that you mentioned that the service is consistently good. It's no good getting everything running well for a week or so and then letting the standards slip. We always keep an eye on having a consistently high level of service and it's good to be noticed and commented on.

Sláinte

The Old Punchbowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Punch Bowl also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Old Punch Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing