We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Ariel House is a pair of Georgian houses in beautiful leafy Dublin 4. This is a “real Dublin” place to stay. Friendly, furnished with antique furniture, comfortable and unique. I had a room upstairs for my last stay, with a beautiful view of Dublin at night. There’s a big front room to sit in and have a glass of wine in the evening. Relaxing, well-run and comfortable, with really nice staff and a very pleasant breakfast in the morning. The Dart (train) station is just opposite or, if you like walking, it's a really nice walk into the city centre. I always look forward to staying here, a home from home, and one that I would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Mary2020
Thank you for taking the time to submitt a Trip Advisor review of Ariel House. We are really pleased that you enjoy staying with us and find the accommodation to be a home from home. Its always a pleasure to welcome you back and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Best Wishes
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    337
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
326
701
50
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have to say that I am really confused by the reviews for Ariel House - they are at absolute odds with my own recent experience of staying there. I stayed for two nights last weekend. My room was a twin bedded dark and dreary room in the basement of the adjoining building. On arrival, in the rain, and having stuggled up the steps with my cases, the girl behind reception stayed at her post and didn't help me with the door or my bags. When I reached my room, I was quite suprised to find that there was no face cloth or shower cap. I was going out that evening, and when I was leaving I asked if it would be possible to have a face cloth. The same girl at reception told me that she would check if 'we have any'!

I was quite suprised to find on both nights that when I returned to the hotel, after dark, an emergency exit door opposite my room was wide open on both occassions, with the wind and rain blowing in. But the worst was yet to come....

On Monday morning I awoke to find that there was no hot water in my bathroom. I rang reception and was told that it had broken down overnight in the area of the hotel that I was in. The receptionist told me that I would be very welcome to come up to reception and have a shower that was adjacent to reception. However, now running late for an important meeting - this didn't appeal. I was genuinely shocked that after a mediocre breakfast, upon checkout, there was no apology nor reduction in price for the fact that I was unable to shower in my room.

Overall, this was an extremely disappointing experience, and although I had gotten a special rate of €75 per night B and B, it is a pity. I am attending a course in Dublin on weekends for the next 3 years - I had hoped that Areil House would turn out to be my Dublin base. But it certainly won't be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LACAMPBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear LACAMPBELL
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Ariel House. It is with great regret that I read your feedback and comments regarding your stay with us. I am in the process of looking into some of the issues raised in your review and would like to assure you that what you have experienced is not a true reflection of how we operate our business.
Regarding the unfortunate issue of our boiler malfunction, I did speak with you directly on the morning in question and offered an alternative room where you could have a hot shower. I understand that you declined due to time constraints at which stage I apologised sincerely for the inconvenience. I do note however that no adjustment was made to your account on departure for this inconvenience which was an oversight on our behalf.
I apologise that your experience of Ariel House did not live up to your expectations. I would value the opportunity to make amends and display the true hospitality that my team and I have to offer. To this end I would be grateful if you can contact me on 01-6685512 or by email at reservations@ariel-house.net
Yours Sincerely
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I joined TripAdvisor to leave this positive review of an unusually outstanding B&B. It feels like I spent weeks looking for the right spot in Dublin during our combined business/pleasure trip. It seemed like hotels were either central to downtown but super noisy at night, central-ish but really expensive, or far out of town but quiet and affordable. I finally read about Ariel House and the service and "best of" awards they've won. Their location was perfect for us because it's far enough out that it was indeed quiet and laid-back, but a quarter block away from the DART that takes you right into downtown in two quick stops (like 10 minutes total).

In every way, Ariel House exceeded our expectations: they prepped a room for our early arrival at 10 am, and even though we hadn't paid for breakfast sat us down with tea and treats while they carried up our luggage. We caught a great winter deal that was super affordable, but were put up in a large jr. suite that had a HUGE bed that was the best of our trip. Everything was well appointed, beautiful, but well-loved and comfortable. The staff was consistently and constantly friendly, helpful, and attentive. They helped us hook up with a rental car and there's free parking right at the front door.

We really loved Ireland for many reasons, but Ariel House was a big part of that experience. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Terri K
Thank you for your lovely review of Ariel House. We are just delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that Ariel House ecxeeded your expectations. Your positive comments, particularly regarding the staff will be passed on to the team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again someday
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in the lead up to Christmas in the Ariel and will rave about our stay. From check in to our departure we couldn't fault the staff nor the welcome. We arrived late and were able to sit in the comfy lounge with the tv remote enjoying a pizza delivery. We felt like lord and lady of the manor.,especially when we found the complimentary freshly baked treats and brewed coffee. Our room he a little dated, was spacious and warm. The bed was comfortable but i have to admit i would have preferred a duvet.
We were very impressed with the breakfast, the produce was top quality.
Transport to and from town couldn't be easier with the dart so location is ideal.
Just to evidence my very positive comments about the staff- i dropped a favourite lipstick and it was posted to me straight away. I think that says it all where housekeeping integrity and thoroughness goes.
Enjoy- we did

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reefsharkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for three nights - the room we had was large with a very big window facing out onto the back of the hotel. The lighting in the room was poor - no main light - only bedside lights - I had to ask for an additional lamp to be brougt to the room as I found it too dark. The bathroom was not in the best of conditions paintwork and plasterwork was not perfect. The beds were most comfortable. The breakfast was good - yogurt was warm though - staff were lovely. A cosy hotel, warm and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thirtyninesteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.5 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
3.3 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
3.8 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.3 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
4.3 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): RM455 - RM1,057
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing