We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin Castle Fun”
Review of Dublin Castle

Dublin Castle
Ranked #82 of 515 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dublin Castle was for 700 years the seat of British power in Ireland. Today you can still view the remains of the 13th century structure as part of the guided tour. The present Dublin Castle dates from the mid 1700's and today is used by the Irish Governemnt for state events such as the inauguration of the Irish President and state banquets for visiting dignatories. Amongst the highlights are the Ladies Drawing Room, the Throne Room and St. Patricks Hall.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Love the fact this is a controversial public building which belonged to the British for centuries but is now occupied by the Irish government. Tourists are able to walk around the grounds and attend events such as the gin experience. We intend to revisit in the next couple of years now we are aware there are more open days and activities. We did have fun however and can recommend it with reasonable assurity.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Paul, thanks so much for visiting and leaving us a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience here! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 792 reviews
"state rooms"
in 176 reviews
"throne room"
in 54 reviews
"self guided"
in 97 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 120 reviews
"interesting history"
in 61 reviews
"great tour"
in 84 reviews
"ireland"
in 318 reviews
"palace"
in 104 reviews
"tower"
in 164 reviews
"moat"
in 46 reviews
"excavation"
in 46 reviews
"government"
in 81 reviews
"foundation"
in 93 reviews
"ruins"
in 73 reviews
"undercroft"
in 33 reviews
"viking"
in 151 reviews
Filter

318 - 322 of 4,505 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

I have been here before and it is worth visiting, between Dublin Castle, the Chester Beatty Library, as well as the gardens, there is a lot to see and experience, I have yet to tour the Inside of the castle.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for visiting and leaving us a review! We hope you can come in and take the tour with us some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Noreen was our guide for the ‘day’ - what a gem she is for Dublin Castle; funny, knowledgeable and not too serious! A lovely afternoon spent exploring just a small part of the historical building

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting and leaving us a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your guided tour and will pass on your compliments to Noreen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Dublin Castle is both historic and hosts current government events. We went on a self-guided tour and were happy with that. We probably would have learned more with a tour, but there were information signs in various rooms making self-guiding pretty good.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank SLWS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks so much for visiting and leaving us a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your self-guided tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We took the guided tour and it was well worth it! The guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a great deal of information about the different layer of history of the castle and of Ireland, from Viking times onwards.
Take your time to also explore the gardens at the back, and the Chester Beatty library, which is free and has a great exhibition related to books and writing, including Asian and Islamic artefacts.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks so much for visiting and leaving us a review! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Castle also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublin Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing