We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin site seeing”

The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition
Ranked #4 of 525 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Book of Kells is a world famous illuminated manuscript written in Latin of the Gospels from the Bible. It was painstakingly hand-written and illustrated by monks around 800 A.D.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

After looking for places to visit we came across the book of Kells. It was worth booking on line to avoid the queues and reduce the price. A stunning place to visit if you have a spare hour. You don't need much longer do experience it all.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 2madd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"long room"
in 1,732 reviews
"trinity college"
in 2,150 reviews
"glass case"
in 142 reviews
"harry potter"
in 353 reviews
"on display"
in 636 reviews
"long hall"
in 318 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 208 reviews
"gift shop"
in 418 reviews
"take your time"
in 147 reviews
"guided tour"
in 236 reviews
"pages"
in 1,233 reviews
"busts"
in 333 reviews
"gospels"
in 318 reviews
"history"
in 3,007 reviews
"volumes"
in 232 reviews
"libraries"
in 268 reviews
"students"
in 858 reviews
Filter

2,217 - 2,221 of 18,813 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Line ups can be long, jostling for space at the few showcases of actual pages can become tedious. Worth the visit if you truly love ancient writings and manuscripts. If not, don’t spend the time in line. Long Room, also part of the entry fee is a magnificent 69 metre long ancient library. If you are impressed with 2 story stacks of ancient books that you cannot touch, go, if not it’s a pricey venue. I loved it, some wouldn’t. The Marsh Library at €3 gives you a glimpse of ancient texts, Chester Beatty Library for free, a magnificent experience, and a richly illuminated test, The Book of Hours is just as amazing.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Hopeisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

When we walked up to the exhibit at the trinity college the line was a 20 minute wait. We hadn’t purchased the tickets yet and wanted to scope it out first. There was a separate line for those who purchased the tickets at the kiosk located on the school property. That purchase allowed for us to enter right away.

The exhibition was amazing. Incredible preservation of the artifacts and explanations of the creation of the books was enlightening. The old library was awe inspiring and it felt like we had time traveled. The only complaint I have was that there were so many people at the display we were shoulder to shoulder and three deep. It was frustrating that the students (junior high and high school) were disrespectful, loud and rambunctious it detracted from the experience.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank kunzkrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookOfKellsOfficial, Visitor Services at The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Kunzkrew,

Thank you for visiting the Book of Kells Exhibition and for taking the time to review us.

We're sorry you found this experience crowded. We try to keep the flow of people moving through the exhibition so our visitors can get the most out of their visit and this is an element of the visitor experience that we are working on improving. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your experience of the exhibition and will take it into consideration for the future.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the exhibition despite the crowded space.

Kind regards,

The Book of Kells team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I saw The Book of Kells and Trinity Library almost 30 years ago and then again recently. It was a lot more "touristy" and you see less of the actual "books" but still breathtaking. We went with a tour group which got us in quickly and was very informative.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank whoatemypopcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Kävimme kolmena päivänä katsomassa jos jonot olisivat lyhyemmät, mutta aina olivat yhtä pitkät. Puolisen tuntia meni jonottamiseen. Itse kirjaa ei päässyt edes näkemään väenpaljoudesta johtuen, sinne olisi hyvä järjestää jonkunnäköinen jonotus. Long room oli vaikuttava kyllä. Ei kannata maksaa 14 euroa tästä alle 15 min kestävästä vierailusta.

Q is always at least half an hour if you haven't bought ticket before. There is so much people around The Book that you cannot even see it, there should be a some kind of system for q or something. Long room was nice to see, but I cannot recommend to pay 14 eur of 15 minutes visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing