We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet boutique hotel”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A lovely warm welcome on arrival -- very important for a weary traveller. We would definitely return to Pembroke Townhouse primarily because of the staff and management, comfortable rooms AND the stellar breakfast presented in a beautiful room. Home baking, proper fruit salad, creamy yogurt, homemade marmalade and the best Full Irish ever -- loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenS499251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hi KathleenS499251,
Many thanks for writing a review about Pembroke Townhouse.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the crew were friendly.
Also it is great to hear too that you enjoyed breakfast!
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back some day.
Best regards from Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 490 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

First impressions were great, had to phone to get directions to the carpark, lovely receptionist gave excellent directions. After parking up, got a very friendly welcome from same receptionist. Room was spotless, at the back of the building on the 5th Floor, it was very quiet. Delicious breakfast the following morning. Great place to stay, would recommend. Very close to the amenities in Ballsbridge. My only small complaint would be the charge for wifi. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam_Na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear KathleenS499251,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the directions you received on arrival were of helpful and friendly.
So good to hear too that you felt our breakfast was delicious!
I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Booked the townhouse for me and my boyfriend having looked on the website and found they were giving away guinness tickets with a 2 night room stay. Having been totally lost (no fault of the place, rather a very rude bus driver!) We eventually checked in earlier then planned (thankyou) but did feel straight away we had walked into somewhere that felt a tad odd. Arriving in our room, we found ourselves at the back of the building which meant it was very quiet :) but found it to be very small for the price! After settling we went down for a cuppa in the main lounge but found it very un-atmospheric. (Also the case in the morning in the breakfast room.. prehaps the non-atmosphere created the 'odd' feeling?!)
Anywho the walk into Dublin did seem further then we had been told.. but not too far from the sightseeing bus stop which was a plus! Having read other comments I feel justified to say we felt the room was a let down as we had a panel of the wardrobe coming away from the wall, a tiny tv (which according to review was going to be sorted a few months ago??) and a bathroom which sorry to say was a tad mouldy, with stains in the bath and toliet.. If these issues were sorted out plus access to internet granted as a freebee we would be more then pleased to stay again, but at the moment we're not quite sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear laurajane24,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the atmosphere when you stayed with us. There have been unusually few guests around lately, so I am guessing this may have been when you stayed and maybe this is why it could have felt quiet or "odd".
I am not sure I understand what what you mean by sorting out of a tv, but I will have a look into the wardrobe and marks you mention so we can make sure we rectify that.
I hope we get a chance to welcome you back again ...if so, please do drop me a line so I can say hello.
Many thanks from Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very welcoming and very quiet hotel halfway between St Stephen's Green and the RDS. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter - no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Jonathan C,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you felt we were "Blissful Quiet!".
I hope we get teh chance to welcoming you back some day.
Best regards from Fiona and all at Pembroke Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great location, easy walk to Aviva Stadium.
20 minute stroll to city bars etc
V.comfortable rooms. Loads of hot water.Nice lounge with self serve tea/ coffee.
Tiny complaint no mirror near hairdryers in bedrooms
Airport bus stops nearby
Will definitely come back when next in Dublin

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzyexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Hi Dizzyexile,
Thank you for reviewing. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay abd look forward to meeting you again.
Our best from all the crew at Pembroke Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#33 of 150 in Dublin
614 reviews
0.6 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#30 of 150 in Dublin
626 reviews
0.9 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.6 km away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,424 reviews
2.2 km away
Uppercross House Hotel
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: RM449 - RM1,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing