We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best breakfast anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #76 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best breakfast anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for a weekend and were delighted by so many things, the service is excellent, the room altho not huge contained a wonderfully comfy huge bed and a great little staircase up to a balcony with a sofa and stereo, The ceilings are so high (15 feet?). The breakfast selection ranged from organic yogurt and apricots steeped in vanilla, mini homemade scones (recipes available) to the full cooked, cooked and served to perfection, oh yeah, and homemade breads and cakes! In the drawing room is a wonderful pantry with tea and coffee and homemade cookies which you can either help yourself to or phone down and they'll bring it to your room, free of charge. I could ramble on for days about how lovely it all was. We will be going back and we never visit anywhere twice!!! We are always on the look our for somewhere better but now we've found it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Jo C,
Thank you for your review...we are blushing!
....and we are a bit proud of our breakfast so thank you (-:
I hope we get to see you that second time!
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    257
    126
    48
    19
See reviews for
118
325
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Clean comfortable hotel, room relaxing, breakfast very good. A walk to the main centre. If you do not like walking too much and are on a budget a few trains away you are in the city centre. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Maria A,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for writing and I hope we get to meet you again.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and thought the location absolutely perfect, because we quite like a longish walk into town - a nice stroll through Merrion Green has its upsides! The room was small but sufficient and very clean , the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was more than fine. Overall we were pleased with the choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Annette T,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for writing and I hope we get to meet you again.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were set up with the Pembroke Townhouse by our travel agent and found it to be an overall good place to stay. A little bit off the beaten path, it is a fair walk from the nearest bus stop (which we took from the airport). Not a huge deal, unless you're hauling a ton of luggage. Location-wise, it's also a fair hike to city center, but the advantage is that you're a little bit off the beaten path.

Comfortable rooms, good breakfast, and a helpful staff.

While appearances would lead you to believe it's a home-like townhouse or B&B, it operates more as a hotel and your experience will leave you feeling that way.

Room Tip: Note: You leave your key at the front desk when you leave for the day, which is nice since it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Kevin W,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and mostly taht you found the staff helpful.
Thank you for writing and I hope we get to meet you again.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We arrived at Pembroke Townhouse at 5:30 am, after an overnight flight, hoping that they would store our luggage while we found some way to pass the time until check-in. What a wonderful surprise - the clerk at the desk immediately showed us to a room that we could use until ours was ready. The room was right behind the desk, and proved to be quite noisy, so they probably try to avoid renting it, but it was a life-saver to us. We immediately went to sleep and rested for a couple of hours until the breakfast crowd awakened us on their way into the dining room. At the time of check-out there was a charge on our bill for use of the room, but when we said that no such charge had been mentioned to us, it was immediately removed. That first few hours was the five-star portion of our stay. We had a room on the fourth floor rear for the three nights we stayed at Pembroke Townhouse. It was quiet and the lack of air-conditioning wasn't an issue, as it was quite cool for the whole time we were in Dublin. The bed was comfortable, although I thought it odd that there was no top sheet - only a comforter. The room was tiny - there wasn't even room to open both our suitcases at once. There was a tiny table and two straight backed chairs, really no place to sit except on the bed, and everything looked kind of worn. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and a good shower, but no fan. The toilet sometimes took up to 10 flushes to empty, and at other times worked just fine. The staff was cordial, but not particularly warm or ready to engage in conversation. The location of the hotel would probably not be good for anyone who can't do a great deal of walking. It is about a third of a mile to the nearest restaurant, and well over a mile to the major shopping and entertainment area, as well at the Hop-on Hop-off bus. All in all, I would probably look for another hotel if I were to return to Dublin.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the lobby floor - there is no escape from the noise of people coming and going. Four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindapeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Lindapeg,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are glad you had some nice experiences but sad to hear that not all were to your liking.
Our beds are scandinavian in style, but we are happy to provied any extra sheets, blankets, etc for anyone who has different preferences.
Being an older property, our rooms vary in size, I am sorry if you stayed in a smaller one..if you change your mind and like to come and stay again, please do not hesitate to drop me a line and I will arrange a room to your preference.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you on another occasion.
Our best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): RM561 - RM1,183
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing