We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$572
US$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle Hotel(Dublin)
US$183
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Roxford Lodge Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,431)
Filter reviews
1,431 results
Traveller rating
497
588
217
84
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
588
217
84
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrafton streetgreat locationnew wingst stephensexecutive roomtemple barwould definitely stay here againlovely hotelcentral locationreception stafftrinity collegefull irish breakfastyogurtirelandpubseuroluas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,431 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is undergoing a massive multi-year renovation. Services are non-existent: no gym, no restaurant. The ground floor bar is 'open' but not to non-hotel residents. The reason? No bathrooms, except in hotel rooms.
Construction debris and equipment is in evidence throughout. The stench can be overwhelming. Because of the project, inconvenience is the norm. Our third floor room required taking two lifts and confusing twists and turns to find the room.
All of this might have been acceptable -- except that no notice or warning of any kind was given in advance. When are taxi dropped us off, it looked like we were in front of a condemned structure. Which is how it will look and feel for the next few years, according to hotel staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank JSinDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas T, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JSinDover,
Thank you very much for taking the time in reviewing the hotel. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your recent stay. It is very strange that you say that no warning was given when notices have been on our website for months now and further the various online travel agents state the same. Further let me reassure you that the facade of the building will not look the way it does now.
Hoping that the rest of your stay in Dublin was enjoyable.
Kindest regards
Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I decided on a weekend away in Dublin as it’s a city I’d always wanted to visit.
The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment but didn’t impact our stay.
Friendly staff, great location and look forward to returning soon!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hittherem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas T, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hittherem, Thank you for the review. delighted the staff and location were to your liking. Good to read the refurbishments didnt stop you from enjoying your stay.
Kind regards
Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Car parking was only 5 minutes away at the Royal college of Irish Surgeons. Renovations were underway but we stayed on the 5th floor in the new part of the hotel and it was gorgeous. The attention to detail was lovely with a huge TV screen that must have been nearly 50".

Room Tip: beds seem all King Size, great AC unit. at a press of a button on wall you have "Do not disturb" displayed in the corridor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas T, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Caroline B

Thank you for your review about the hotel and your recent stay. We are delighted you liked the new look of the hotel and the indeed huge tv's in the rooms.
We look forward welcoming you back soon.
Greetings
Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Picked this hotel believing there was a gym, However as the hotel is under renovation it was closed. There is no mention of this on the hotel website.

Otherwise hotel is decent enough, in a good location.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas T, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Matt W,

Thanks a Million for your review. We will be reopening the gym very soon with all new equipment and a shiny new room I hope to be able to welcome you back for you to not only use our beautiful hotel but also our gym.

Warm regards
Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Recently stay at O’Callaghan’s Stephens Green Hotel in Dublin for a one night business stay.

Hotel is currently undergoing a re-model so main front door and check in desk is temporary although renovations began November 2017.

Guest rooms are completed and are comfortable.

Lighting in bathroom could be brighter however there is nice above sink counter space for toiletries.

Did not like small amenities offered in bathroom: little twist top bags for shampoo and body wash. No body lotion offered.

Did not experience food service due to business scheduling.

Staff is wonderful and very thoughtful and helpful.

A nice property with limitations.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonas T, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Cheryl G,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are undergoing a complete renovation of the hotel and will be finished with everything in the not to distant future. We have redone a vast majority of our bathrooms already and are about to finish the ground floor.
The staff are indeed wonderful and are the biggest asset to the hotel.

Kind regards
Jonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews