We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LODGING VALUE IN DUBLIN”

Abrae Court Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Ranked #111 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 14 September 2016

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Abrae Court September 2016. Abrae Court is situated in Rathgar, a rather eclectic neighborhood of south Dublin. The property was once the home of one of the first Jewish families in Dublin. The property is a bit aged but is well-kept. A minor disadvantage is the 15-20 steps from street level to the front door. It may take several trips to move luggage, so pack light! Our room was a bit small but functional.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again next trip to Dublin. The major benefits to the property are: (1) very reasonable rate of approximately $75/night, which is much less expensive than the $175+/night for hotels much less favorably situated. (2) location-excellent restaurants and shops in Rathgar which is a 5-7 minute walk. Bus service is available to Dublin and takes about 15 minutes for about $3/person. We opted for taxi service which was quite reasonable in the $8/person range and saves enormous amounts of time. (3) outstanding breakfast options from the full Irish to fruit and yogurt, all at very reasonable prices.

The property is managed by Nina Lynn Kessler (named after a Texas beauty queen), and she is an absolute delight-very personable, accommodating and willing to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. She also prepares breakfast which is exceptional. The full Irish breakfast would likely feed at least 2 people. The small Irish is equally delicious and plentiful. In fact we were able to eat only 1 more meal in the day as we were so full!

If you are looking for very reasonably priced lodging near Dublin center and can live with smaller floor space and fewer amenities (no elevator), Abrae House is a great option.

Room Tip: Best to check with Nina Lynn and describe your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GTJack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

stayed again have been many times location suits me because i come regularly on business .it is good for any one staying in Dublin easy to get anywhere there restaurants local and easy bus ride in to city centre I am always satisfied with the room bath room tea and coffee and TV

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Nina was extremely pleasant and accommodating however the facilities were just horrible. We had a 3 bedroom and it was such a tight squeeze that all 3 of us could not unpack at the same time. The bathroom was TINY. We were so repulsed by the accommodations that we had t check out early and move to a different place.

Room Tip: Prepare for a hostel type of B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Jordana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Room Tip: Check that everythink functions (including the water taps) before receiving new guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank coraz852
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Stayed here to be close to Marlay Park - was still a good hours walk away. Lovely area to stay in - room was great value, very quiet and peaceful. Service was pleasant, place was well looked after. For the money we paid you can't go far wrong!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,300 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 152 in Dublin
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrae Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrae Court Guesthouse

Address: 9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrae Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abrae Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing