We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great italian lunch place”
Review of Toscana

Toscana
Ranked #124 of 2,638 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Temple Bar
Description: Toscana City Centre recently awarded the Good Food Ireland Best Grow It Yourself Restaurant in Ireland. Ideally located in the heart of Dublin with a view towards Dublin Castle on the edge of Temple Bar. Toscana takes inspiration from our organic gardens in Co Wicklow to bring the spirit of Italian cooking into our kitchens right here in the City. At the heart of Toscana lies a celebration of food that is fresh, natural and unpretentious, elevating traditional and modern cooking into flavours our customers love. Our chef/Proprietor grows home-grown fruit salads vegetables and herbs from his family farm-house in Co Wicklow and brings to Dublin City Centre fresh daily by the seasons. Toscana has become an icon for pre theatre diners great family gatherings. From couples to groups, corporate to friends. There is a seat for everyone in our farm to table restaurant. Buon appetito!
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were looking for something slightly different in Dublin. Toscana is great italian food. The specials were good and perhaps they should advertise more and perhaps reduce the pricepoint a little.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Toscana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Too many tables in a small space. Cramped surroundings. If you like a thin based pizza this is not for you. Tiramisu average. Very friendly staff.

Thank theresamcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damestreet, Guest Relations Manager at Toscana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Teresa,
Thank you for your review. Our chef is from Naples and we deliver the authentic pizza with a thick outer crust. This is one of the most famous pizzas from all pizza styles. We understand guests have different tastes. If you want extra thin please order super skinny or a thin base request where the dough is stretched more. Our guests love our atmosphere which is cosy & warm. Yes our tables are close, high rents and crazy rates in Dublin that have increased 100% last year we have no choice if we serve a maincourse at €11 there is a price that we must pay. On the upside we do not serve €30/35 main courses that can be served in Dublin. We thank you most sincerely for stopping in, your custom it is most appreciated.
Warmest regards
Toscana family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We were looking for something a bit different from the Irish pub scene. We found it in Toscana. The Italian food was fresh and delicious. The pasta was firm and the sauce flavorful. They were able to accommodate a large group (10) without difficulty on a Saturday night. The prices were reasonable including the wine. I would highly recommend

Thank Schwartzkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damestreet, Guest Relations Manager at Toscana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Schwartzkin, we are delighted to read your "Great Italian Food" review. Your custom is greatly appreciated. Hope to see you back soon for the 6 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We were a little leery of an Italian restaurant in Dublin but a friend recommended so we tried it. Great atmosphere. Fun servers. However - my puttenesca was served over potatoes - where else but Ireland?

Thank MJ2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damestreet, Guest Relations Manager at Toscana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear MJ2E,
Thank you for your 'Delightful' review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time in our company. Our salmon dish is served with a Puttanesca sauce and sautéed rosemary & garlic potatoes which Chef Marco created from Rome. We do also have a pasta puttanesca if you wish to try next time. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Toscana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Booked for Saturday early bird arrived bit early told no problem,
Starter came out after twenty minutes tasted lovely.
Then after forty minutes no sign of our main courses.
Complained and they made a joke about chasing chickens.
When our mains came out Cannaloni it was piping hot.
However the Frys we're cold and swimming in grease salad was tasteless and leaves were warm.
I couldn't have dessert as I was put off by above and the wait.
We had to run as parking meter was running out of time .I thought an hour and a half would have been enough for an early bird.we had a loyalty card we didn't use it because we won't be back.

Thank Gasman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damestreet, Guest Relations Manager at Toscana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Gasman16,
Thank you for your review, we apologise that your main course was delayed longer than usual. It was the very busy hour where all guests seemed to be rushing to theatre and despite what time they left to dine for three courses everybody was asking for their meals because of the show. Our average dining experience for tables for two is between 1.5 - 2 hours however so many tables on the same night arrived late and still had only a short window to go to theatre. No excuse intended just merely explaining what had happened.
Our salads are refrigerated and served after being picked from our gardens the same day so freshness is guaranteed. I understand the extra wait detracted from your experience. Please get in touch directly to damestreet@toscanarestaurant.ie where a lot can be done.
Warmest regards
Toscana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toscana also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing