We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #166 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We have just checked in and not impressed. The gentleman who let us in was not welcoming. Gruffly said to leave luggage downstairs until we found out where we are staying. I went upstairs while my husband stayed down with the luggage. There is no elevator. We are on 3 Rd floor. It is very damp and cold with no way of controlling the temperature. The tv is small and old and the volume is on low and can't be changed on controller and button on tv has been removed. The furniture is pitiful...no handle on dresser drawer and drawer broken. Safety handle in shower rusted so bad that part of circle next to the wall rusted in half. It is not on the bus route...you half to walk quite a ways with your luggage...not good in the rain. The coffee pot in the room was filthy inside...brown crude in it that I tried to clean. One of the cups has baked on dirt inside it and the other cup is chipped on the rim. Only good about this place..it overlooks the ocean and has good wifi.

Room Tip: Don't come...but if ocean view is your priority and can overlook the issues, then the triple on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janetchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayde for two nights in this B&B. Our bedroom was next to the reception where the landlord and landlady received their guests till late (22:30). This caused a lot of noise and inconvenience. The bathroom was so small that when seated on the toilet the lavabo was almost resting on the knees. Draperies where made of a very light transparent material that didn't darken the rooms at all and bed and matras were of a very poor quality. Breakfast, which was pretty good, was included in the price of 95 euro a room per night. This was so very expensive for quality and comfort that we felt ripped of. Walking distance to Galway and no problems to park the carr.

Room Tip: Ask first ot inspect the rooms and don't take the one at the reception side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpl20102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Ideal spot for a quick stay in Galway. Parking outside the door, 5 min walk to salthill main st and a 10 min walk to Spanish arch! Friendly staff and clean room. Breakfast is extra but loads of cafes close by. Family room was perfect. Lack of hot water in the morning the only problem but highly recommend a stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We arrived early but the staff allowed us to have our room then. The room was good, towels provided and an amazing view across the bay. Bed was comfy and breakfast was nice (although over priced at £8.50). Shower took a long time to warm up and the bathroom was very small and cramped. Staff were friendly though although the lack of a card machine (think it was broken) was a slight issue.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank D0M1NIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Clean, good location but when we arrived after 5pm I expected our rooms to be ready! Curtain rails were broken and no towels. I had to phone at 9 pm to remind them they had not provided towels. They do not provide hand towels, bath mats or toiletries so not good for cabin luggage only passengers!! Breakfast at €8.50 was expensive for what was on the menu and more expensive than what was quoted when we booked.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 km away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 km away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 46 in Galway
135 reviews
1.1 km away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#113 of 189 in Galway
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#89 of 189 in Galway
78 reviews
0.3 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#13 of 189 in Galway
117 reviews
2.4 km away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#43 of 189 in Galway
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: The White House The White House The White House 2 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: RM 179 - RM 713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Galway Bay, offering luxurious accommodation close to all main amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing