We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #166 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Stayed here for one night, and would certainly not have stayed more.

On arrival note on the door back shortly, 20 minutes later after waiting in the pouring rain we gained access to the hallway only because other residents were going out.

The main hallway has a tiled floor, but not non slip, therefore, they were lethal whilst wet.

A gentleman finally turned up but had no idea what was going on or who should be in which room, when finally sorted although our room was clean that is about as far as it goes. The bathroom was in serious need of attention.

Breakfast the next morning had been precooked and kept warm, therefore it was dried up by the time it reached your plate.

I would not stay here again and would not recommend, there are far better places for less money

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this bnb for 2 nights, location was ok as it was located opposite the beach however was about a 15/20 minute walk into Galway. The staff were friendly and helpful. However the hot water never worked so had to have freezing cold showers. The room itself was a decent size as we was out most of the days so was only there to sleep and shower. I assumed because it was a bnb the breakfast was included but on arrival we was asked if we wanted to pay for it which we decided not to do. Overall an average bnb but not worth the price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I'm not quite sure where to start with this hotel. It's a few months on and I'm still angry about the attitude, the service and the conditions, and how they can even dare to call themselves a 3 star hotel.

Lets start with the positives - It's within walking distance of the city centre and has a view of the bay.

Now the negatives:

- The hotel is seriously run down. We were put up in an attic room which should never have been used as a hotel room. Utterly substandard and tired. Cracked tiles on the floor, a bathroom with shoddy fittings. Things broken.

- The shower was an old OAP shower unit which barely worked. You couldn't stretch your arms inside it. Tiny and cramped.

- Shower was powered by a boiler which took forever to heat up, and sounded like a rocket on take-off. Deafening.

- Warm water was also hardly ever available as it was always 'used up' by other guests. Something we just had to 'deal with' according to the rude female manager we encountered.

- The rooms have absolutely NO BASICS other than two bath towels. This meant no soap or hand-towels. It was only after complaining for 2 days that we finally received soap but by that time we had already bought some.

- Getting to the bathroom was cramped and difficult due to a thin passageway.

- Toilet paper barely ever replaced, and when done so, sparingly. Cheap like everything else about this hotel.

- The staff (JJ in particular) gave the illusion of being helpful, but pretended not to know about these issues although there seem to be another 30 people complaining about them before we visited on here, so draw your own conclusions as to customer service and whether he is telling the truth.

- Probably one of the loudest hotels i've stayed in, a combination of drunk guests, thin walls, and tiles on the landing meaning that sound carries throughout the entire hotel.

- Ludicrously overpriced for what you receive. If it was half the price you still probably wouldn't get good value.

- More hovel than hostel, and not even close to being considered a 3 star hotel

DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY. DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE DID.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Host & Staff: Friendly
Cleaningness: Ok
Room: Very basic, but ok
Washroom: Kinda 2.5 square metres, ugly, broken tiles, super old. Pictures posted on TripAdvisor.com are reality
Breakfast: Somewhat ok
Value for money: Not ok

Summary: We had much nicer B&B in Irland for less money. I would not book this one again





Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ebloody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived at around 7 in the evening. The staff were very friendly and we're efficient with our check in. The place was also very clean. However, there were no towels in the room as they were having a issue with same. They then came around with only 2 shower towels as we were about to go out for the night. I don't think it's too much to ask to have towels ready in your room when you arrive. The room was very basic, decor was outdated. The curtains was barely covering the window and we're practically see through. Also there was a really old television which to be fare did have about 10 channels. The bathroom was very small. The shower was also old style. I mean not even an electric shower in this day and age. And to round it all off the toilet paper was obviously very cheap. Furthermore one of the bulbs was blown in one of the bedside lamps. All for 120 euro for one night. Not worth what we paid.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 km away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 km away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 46 in Galway
135 reviews
1.1 km away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#113 of 189 in Galway
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#89 of 189 in Galway
78 reviews
0.3 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#13 of 189 in Galway
117 reviews
2.4 km away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#43 of 189 in Galway
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: The White House The White House The White House 2 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: RM 179 - RM 713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Galway Bay, offering luxurious accommodation close to all main amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing