We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will defo go back best hostel iv ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinlay Hostel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will defo go back best hostel iv ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights with 3 of my friends great location and excellent value for money the room was clean and warm and staff were nice and friendly would recommend it to anyone looking to go to Galway on a budget weekend or holiday

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypoppins84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    127
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
59
121
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Located on Merchants Road which is about 2 - 3 mins away walk from Eyre Square.

I spent there two nights. Though the hostel is very nice and staff friendly and helpful, I had a very bad experince with my room mates (which I didn't know) in a 6 bed ensuite room. I didn't mind they came back more than tipsy but I did mind that they were allowed to bring some strangers to the room from a night out in some of local pubs. Later on during the night I was awaken by two couples having sex (with the ladies brought up from a pub). I tried to get out of the room but was not allowed as someone was asleep by the door and I could not move that person. So you can imagine, how terrified I was. I didn't sleep for the rest of the night and at six in the morning I packed my staff and thankfully got away from the room. The staff at the desk seemed worried. After all explanation what had happened I was asked why I didn't leave the room. Well, the night receptionist didn't obviously give a damn and didn't care.
It's a pitty because it is a very nice budget hostel but after experience like this, next time when I am in Galway I book my accommodation somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Went with a large group (25+) of friends from college. Great location. Hostel was clean. Showers were warm. They had a lovely common area so we could watch the x factor and have a few drinks before heading out.
No curfew/security checks.
Elevator to all floors.
Communal toilets/showers well looked after.
Adequate bed clothing.
Warm room (we slept with window open in November!)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I went with 5 other friends and we enjoyed the staying.they were nice giving us an entire room;I think it's very important for a hostel!
Rooms are good and the location is excellent.
Good breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price range (per night): RM105 - RM487
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing