We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the heart of gakway city”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed here on a Hen a few weeks ago. Had a range of ladies from 18 up to 55 and they all said how impressed they were with the hotel. All of the staff couldnt have done any more for us from start to finish and were more than obliging at any requests made.
The bar food was gorgeous as was the breakfast. Rooms were lovely, beds comfy and very warm.
Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Due to its fantastic location its a very lively spot which isnt everybody's dream getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lauraconoffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Yes this hotel can get a little noisy due to it's very central location. That's the Galway experience though - music and fun! Despite the location I did manage to sleep even though my room was located facing the main street. Rooms were clean and adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. Jet lag had me up pretty early and the guy in the kitchen let me sit in the restaurant before it opened, made me coffee and brought me a croissant when it was fresh out of the oven. So good!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stayed at the Eyre Square for two nights. Had a decent room on the first floor. Hotel staff were very friendly. Room was clean. Beds a bit hard but OK. It was rather warm out and there was no bathroom fan, so the room was very warm after showering. (Of course, no AC) but tolerable. The hotel restaurant/bar was nice and the breakfast was great. We ate lunch or dinner at pubs, mostly, but other guests enjoyed dinner there. The restaurant is lovely with very nice decor. The waitstaff was friendly. The eggs benedict was fabulous. Best part of this hotel is location...easy walk to lots of shops, Eyre Square, and great pubs. I recommend An Pucan, a great pub just across the street. There is a car park only a half block or less away and cost 6.50 Euros for 24 hours of parking. We took the Galway hop on/hop off tour for 12 Euros, and it was okay. Very quick tour, only an hour, but you get to see the Galway sights and the tour guide was entertaining. My only complaint was a constant "thunk" noise that kept waking me at night. I realized too late that is was our room door clunking with the pressure change when anybody opened the door to the stairwell. I should have wedged a towel under the door to stop it. I heard the same noise from other doors above us or nearby.

Room Tip: Check your door to see if it closes tightly or has a "clunk." Wedge it shut so keep it qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTFireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

On arriving at this hotel I was amazed at how friendly the staff were, as I opened the front door I was greeted by the reception staff who gave me the biggest smile and most friendliest and warmest welcome that I have ever received in any hotel that have ever stayed in. All the staff who work in this hotel were extremely helpful and there was nothing that was too much trouble for them, they greeted you whenever they met you with huge smiles and although they were fully booked for the duration of my stay I was made feel like I was the only customer staying there at that time. The hotel was beautiful and extremely clean and the food was to die for. This hotel is situated right in the centre of Eyre Square in Galway and was a fantastic place to explore all the sights of Galway from. I would have no problem whatsoever with recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Galway for either business or pleasure and I myself will definitely be returning to it in the very near future for another amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_D_Meehan, Front Office Manager at Eyre Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Siobhan

We were delighted to receive your fantastic review of Eyre Square Hotel. We pride ourselves on our level of customer service. We really appreciate your feedback for food and service and hope that you will return to us again soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Eyre Square Hotel

Kindest regards

Deirdre Meehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I'm here at 4.07am writing a review as I am wide awake with my teenage daughter as the noise is soooo bad from the rooms around me...they sound like a group of young lads on the tear (fair play)...but this is a bit much, seriously, they sound like they are going to come in through the wall !!!!! I can't get hold of anyone in reception...my experience has not been great here as we had to be moved from our original room as it was very smelly and opened up onto the back overlooking the bins...they did however put us in a much nicer room straight away. Location excellent, bar food lovely hotel a bit run down but cheap and cheerful. ...but I'm so tired and a long drive ahead.....not a family hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank doodlebops8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_D_Meehan, Front Office Manager at Eyre Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear doodlebops8

Please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered during our stay. I am investigating into the issues that occurred. We have staff on 24 hours a day to cater for guests requirements.

We are currently under a complete refurbishment to bring the whole hotel up to a fresh modern feel.

If you wish to contact me, please do so at info@eyresquarehotel.com or 091 569633 any time and I would be only too happy to help in any way I can

Yours sincerely

Deirdre Meehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
942 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,107 reviews
0.1 km away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#16 of 46 in Galway
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#36 of 46 in Galway
596 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#27 of 46 in Galway
657 reviews
0 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: RM290 - RM760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing