We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good accomodation option in the heart of Galway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffin Lodge
Ranked #33 of 196 Galway B&B and Inns
Lleida, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good accomodation option in the heart of Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Let me begin by saying that this was a quite lucky find. I wanted to book accomodation somewhere else in Galway city for NYE 2010 but unfortunately my b&b of choice was fully booked. After reading some of the reviews here in Tripadvisor I decided to give it a shot, and I couldn't be happier!
The b&b is a cute house in Father Griffin's Road, with its own car park.

Location: Excellent. Some 5 minutes from the b&b to the Spanish Arch and Quay Street by walking. I repeat, an excellent base for exploring Galway city. If you're coming to Galway by car (I was driving from Limerick), it's quite conveniently located. Be careful though as there can be somewhat of a heavy traffick to enter Galway, especially at rush hour (i.e. early morning or 17 - 18h). The fact that location is excellent is easily explained when you consider that there are 4 bed and breakfasts in the area.

Rooms: I went there with a couple of friends. I was in a single ensuite room, which was sufficient for me but perhaps a bit small if you're staying in the b&b for longer than two days or if you're one of those people who "live" in the b&b room.
My friends were in an ensuite twin room. The only "but" was that it was the room straight under the roof and they're quite tall, but the room was more than ok, spacious and, perhaps, a small toilet. Both rooms (and the whole b&b) were spotless, everything was clean, fresh-smelling.

Food: Excellent full-Irish breakfast. If you didn't want your breakfast cooked, you could opt for fruit, cereals, toast and yogurts.

Ann is lovely, she's unbelievably helpful. This year I'm going back to Galway on the 27th December and, unfortunately, Ann will be closed for Christmas (but open for New Year, like last year). She was kind enough to help me find another b&b that would be opened in the neighbourhood.

Next time I'm in Galway I'll, for sure, book a room at Griffin Lodge.

Room Tip: The twin ensuite in the attic has a VERY low roof over the beds. Be careful if you're tall (espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greatbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    56
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
89
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I returned to Griffin Lodge after 6 years,this time with my husband. We had a delightful stay. Ann is a tremendous host and so knowledgeable about the area.For me it was like coming home again a very pleasant stay. Ann's breakfast are wonderful...real Irish hospitality! Everything is close by and walking distance,even for two seniors.
We stayed for three nights and would go back,if we ever have the opportunity!

Room Tip: Contact Ann if you have any special needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irelandagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Ann, the host, is a wonderfully warm person who made us feel very welcomed in Galway. The rooms were on the smaller side but as clean as a 5-star hotel. Breakfast was served by Ann, herself, every morning and was delicious. We spent 2 nights there and wished we had more time to stay!

We highly recommend this location to anyone planning to visit Galway. The location is also ideal...5-10 min walk from anything you want to see or do.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney AUstrali
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed recently in this 11 room b and b. Anne was a wonderful garrulous host who took us in and greeted us with tea and choccy biscuits. Lovely.
One of the rooms was quite small and had limited space to open bags but the other room was a good size, with the only complaint being at the size of the shower which made for cramped bathing. Breakfast was lovely and the location excellent being off the main roads but very close to town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at Griffin Lodge for 2 nights, and were very happy with the choice. The location was perfect - just across the bridge from the main shopping/restaurant street, but a quiet location. Anne was a great hostess, the rooms were clean (although on the smaller side) and the breakfast was very nice.

For the location and price, this place cant be beat. In my ratings I gave the rooms a 3/5 only because they were very small and a bit dark, but we didnt spend much time in them anyway so it worked fine for us (and they were very clean, which matters more to me than decoration).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 km away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#43 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#6 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.3 km away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#32 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.9 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 km away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Lodge

Property: Griffin Lodge
Address: Griffin Lodge 3 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): RM346 - RM399
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Griffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffin Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing