We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Book it , you will not be disappointed!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House The Living Room in the Coach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
View of the Stairs in the Coach House
The Kitchen in the Coach House
Stairs in the Coach House
Bedroom in the Coach House
Bedroom No. 2 in the Coach House
Bathroom in the Coach House
Coach House Sign
Coach House
View from Aghadoe of the Lakes
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Ballaghasheen Pass 25 miles away
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
elainemcK...
kildare
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Book it , you will not be disappointed!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and two children & I stayed in this property for three nights, during our stay we met the owners upon arrival & check out only, we knew they were only a short walk away and if I HAD needed anything I would have knocked on the office door, however, the property was so well kitted out that there was absolutely nothing extra needed, from detergent to turf , hand soap to hairdryer, everything was there, a real home from home. The decor is beautiful too, plenty of solid decent furniture, the beds were exceptionally comfortable, and the ensuite shower was divine to use. The only issue I now have is that I will want to stay here and nowhere else ,every time we visit Kerry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: the shortness of our stay
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoustonJi...
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Location, Great Hosts”
Reviewed 24 January 2012 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful home rental within a 10 minute walk of Killarney. We rented the coach house and it was a fantastic home base for a weeklong vacation of County Kerry and the surrounding area. The home was the original 1800's coach house that was redone a few years ago. The owner TIm kept the original stone walls and kept it feeling old with all the modern touches; full kitchen, washer and dryer, etc. Tim was a great tour guide for getting us off the beaten path away from the everyday tourist places and seeing parts of Ireland that were amazing (and some good pubs also!) Killarney gets a bad rap for being Touristy (it can be with the tour buses all day), but this home is on the edge of town close to the national park and still any easy walk to the pubs at night. Killarney was fun at night and had some great restaurants. I highly recommend the Priory to couples or families or groups; we will be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, hosts
Liked least: wifi was a work in progress due to the stone walls, but they made it work!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy D
Stafford, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay in Kerry”
Reviewed 4 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

If you are considering a self-catering rental for your vacation in Ireland, this is the perfect place. We stayed at the Priory in the Coach house and it was amazing. Tim and Bernadette are gracious hosts and fantastic cooks. They make you feel very welcomed, are there when they need you, but yet still give you the privacy you need.

The house was comfortable and warm. You get a sense of the history of the area staying here, with so much charm, but also have modern conveniences. Sitting by the peat fire every night was a wonderful way to end each of our days after being out and about hiking, walking, and shopping. I loved cooking in the kitchen and really appreciated the large gas stove. The beds were large and comfortable and it was really nice having both bedrooms en suite.

The location of the Priory is fantastic! It is so close to the national park, that has walking and hiking trails. The Muckross house and Muckross abbey are wonderful to visit. Also Torc waterfall and Mountain are incredible to see and walk. Ross Castle is also just down the road. The town of Killarney is just up the road with many great places to shop and eat. All of these things are less than a ten minute drive.

A little further out is the Dingle Peninsula. We visited the town of Dingle and it was very cute. It has shops, great pubs, and boat tours. Further out on the Peninsula you can see the Dunbeg Fort that was built around 500 BC. There are many historic sites out on the peninsula. Also, driving through the area gives you fantastic views of cliffs, beaches, and mountains. Connor's pass is beautiful, albeit a bit scary to drive through. I would recommend this drive for sure, but not on the first day in the country if you are not used to driving on the left.Cork and the Blarney Castle are also within driving distance and a great day trip from the Priory.

We had such a wonderful time in Ireland and staying in the Kerry area was such a highlight of our trip. We are already starting to plan the next trip back, and our extended family wants to join us. We will for sure be staying at the Priory again and love how there are multiple places to stay so you can accommodate a small family of three like ours, or multiple members of your extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything; it was clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The owners were fantastic!
Liked least: Having to leave ;)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoph...
Porto Heli, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Killarney”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Loft which is part of the Priory. a 3 bed 2 bath property within 15 minutes walking distance of the town and the National Park, so brilliantly located. The ground floor with underfloor heating is open plan,the kitchen dining area divided from the sitting room by the staircase. The house is well furnished, the kitchen fully equipped and a separate laundry room makes this house a wonderful place to stay. The owners,who live in a separate house alongside couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: small wood burning stove
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This was a multi-generation trip. We had Grandparents, Parents and Grandchildren and this location was perfect!
Bedrooms for everyone and plenty of space to spread out and gather together for meals or sit by the fire and read, play games or plan out the next days activities. We used Killarney as the starting point for lots of exploration.
Tim, the owner, was extremely knowledgeable about all of Ireland and his suggestions on places to see and things to do was so much more than we could get out of our guidebooks. ThePriory is just off the main road and so close to everything but felt off the beaten path and was a welcome oasis after a day of travel/sightseeing.
My boys so enjoyed gathering firewood and building fires and my daughter loved exploring the gardens and picking herbs with her grandfather for dinner.
The Priory has multiple accommodations and would be a superb spot for several families to vacation together so I'm hoping we can come back soon and bring even more of the family.
Many thanks to Tim and Bernadette for everything we could have hoped for from our trip and more!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2011
Thank You Elizabeth for your kind words.We look forward to your return. Take Care. Tim O'Donoghue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$190
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing