We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most beautiful cottage ever...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cottage Lotti

View of living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View of living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
traveling...
Essex.england
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Good, the bad, The FACTS!”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The owners need to move into this place for a week and see how they can live in it. They would be disappointed in themselves.

Our first impression was lovely, we opened the door, I said WOW, but was my fist impression here to stay? The pictures I have put up you would think so, but I have also put up the honest photos too. In fairness this place in the main is ok, sadly there were a lot of buts! Let’s tackle the best bits first. A very nice friendly owner, Evi, living just two doors down the country lane. The location of the cottage we thought very good particularly with Killarney a vibrant interesting colourful clean town just 4 miles down the road. It offers lots of restaurants, Irish pubs good shops and that wonderful Irish hospitality that you encounter everywhere you go. We love Killarney so will you. The ring of Kerry is pretty and the dingle plus all the other trips out and about from around here, they are all nice but nothing more than you would see in Scotland, Cumbria or Derbyshire. Ireland is nice but the weather of course is rarely your friend albeit we later hit a heat wave so mustn’t moan. We travelled with our car for 3 weeks throughout June 2018. Back to the property,Cottage Lotti. It’s bright, nicely homely a big comfortable bed, the lounge on first sight was very inviting, that was it.

Now here comes the lasting impression and things that we didn’t like. The kitchen for us was not terribly functional, its small and difficult to move around, if like us you like to cook a few meals whilst away as eating out is not fun EVERY night of the week, you will find it difficult. Silly things were missing like a serving spoon. I tried to poach eggs for breakfast but nothing to retrieve them with other than a ladle and a sieve. A two slice toaster out of the ark no good for more than one person! A frying pan not sitting well on the electric hob, no grill pan, so no grilled bacon for breakfast. Like many rental properties you get the horrible feeling you’ve been given the leftovers from family homes rather than fitted with new and workable equipment, lots of equipment was old discoloured and cracked. Worn out everything that is the feeling you get. The fridge is past its sell by date, knackered and sings all day all night, it sounds like music playing, it drives you insane. The owner knew about it and said it needed balancing so my husband tried with a spirit level, it was balanced, just knackered. The kitchen needs a run of units putting in and the table removing if you are to work in it properly.There was so little storage for food, we struggled. I dreaded trying to do a meal! The bath room shower is noisy electric and weak, very difficult washing hair, there is nowhere in the shower to hang a flannel, sponge or shampoos and conditioners so they surround your feet in the very tiny enclosure. Hooks are broken behind the bathroom door, just left not replaced, the bathroom needed a wall mounted towel holder placed over the rad to hang wet towels instead of a wire contraption taking up space making life difficult. Masking tape was around windows to hide mouldy window frames and the mirror above the sink! A light hangs by its wire from the ceiling in the bathroom having fallen from its socket. There is no full length mirror anywhere in the property to dress to. The TV is tiny and needs replacing with a flat screen and bigger screen, so small was it we could not read the subtitles, in fairness they offer Sky.Sadly the large white couches are completely finished, sunk almost to the floor and VERY painful to spend and evening in. The owner assures me they are ordering new cushions be sure to ask before booking that the issues have been addressed. The TLC this pace needed is only pennies so to make this place as good as its first impression. The worse bit for us is the thin unlined curtains in the bedrooms leaking light at 4am, the room was ablaze, it meant poor sleep left you feeling grumpy, darn sad as the bed was great, albeit the pillows have seen better days. Finally the layout of the property means that throughout the night if you need the toilet you MUST bring a torch as you have to navigate the lounge in darkness to the bathroom on the other side of the property. OK, so it’s not en-suit, acceptable in an older property but you need to consider this if getting up in the night is an issue for you. Did we enjoy our stay, yes we did in the main but would we return? NO, not unless the owners address the issues that we have mentioned. On top of your stay is a 40E fee for cleaning fee and sadly it was not the cleanest, I did point this out to the owner, plus your electric and the heating oil used, this lot needs to be bulked together with the rental. The owners need to spend a week here and see how they like it. We are heading off to our next rental property in Galway. Being open and honest with the renters we did take them on a tour of their own property as seen by us the renter, and the owner was devastated saying everything will be put right. I genuinely think they were so upset that the issues will be addressed, BUT check before you book. When we travel we hope for at least our own standard of living, preferably better as lets face it holidays are our treat to ourselves. This hand me down property falls well short of comfort hence first impression are not lasting impression. The couches are dreadful and it’s not long before you are shifting from cheek to cheek, or dangling yourself in every conceivable position in a bid to get comfortable. Our backs ached, this is not what the owners would want for themselves on holiday. I think they have lost site of the reality of this property. This is an open and honest account of a potentially lovely property. It seems our photos cannot be loaded to the site?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful cottage ever...”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cottage Lotti for a week in April. Evi was the most welcoming hostess and she was ever so helpful. She stocked the fridge with food for us and there was nothing we needed that was not provided. The cottage was spotless and as beautiful as the pictures show. We felt at home in this restful, peaceful place. We love Evi and love this gorgeous cottage. We highly recommend this amazing place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for that lovely review it's means so much to me that you enjoyed your stay that much
All my love
Evi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extraordinary home for an extraordinary exploration of County Kerry.”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautiful cottage for 7 days. We were told by our host it was our home for the time we were here and to use it as our own. All was great; shower, deep, large bath, complete kitchen, fireplace, laundry, especially the king size bed with separate duvets. We hope you have an opportunity to use this cottage in your travels. Mike from Oconomowoc Wisconsin USA

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2018
So kind words ,thank you so much and I appreciate it very much..when you happy l am happy.
All my love Evi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafeinJes...
Grand Junction
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Cottage Lotti was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The cottage is as described and even more. Evi is delightful. She provided all we needed to be comfortable--even to stocking the refrigerator and pantry. She also suggested Muckross house and the Traditional farms. They are well worth visiting and only 1/2 hour away.
What a blessing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2018
Thank you so much, make's me really so happy when you feel so pleased ....love Evi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
I am very happy that's you enjoyed your stay in cottage Lotti.Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing