We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed in the Killarney Plaza Hotel while attending a conference in the INEC and really enjoyed the stay. Strong points were the buffet breakfast which was tasty with plenty of choice. The bed was comfy and the room and en-suite were spacious and clean. The bar on the ground and first floor was one of the nicest Ive been in.
Down sides were the lack of broadband and the fuzzy reception on the old TV. It is a bit of a trek from the underground car park which is hard if you have a lot of baggage. There was some noise from a party in one of the adjoining buildings but it did not happen all week.

Over all I enjoyed my stay and would go back if I was visiting on a leisure break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaranIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,007 - 1,011 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights following Paddys weekend. The staff were among the most helpful and pleasant I've met, nothing too much trouble and good for advice on tourist info.
We stayed on the fourth floor and the room was lovely. Giant comfortable bed and great air conditioning. Bathroom fine, although when shower curtain is pulled over there isn't much light IN the shower, but this is a small point.
We ate in the bistro on two nights, good menu choice and again friendly staff (killarney hasn't great choice on a Monday or Tuesday night with many of the good restaurants only open Thursday to Sunday)
The pool and leisure area are nice. Pool is on the small side, especially if there are children in. Jacuzzi was great. Changing rooms could be improved by adding a spinner to dry swimming costumes.
Only poor point in our eyes was the car parking. The hotel wasn't full so getting a spot was not the problem. Finding it was the first challenge-drive down the left me the hotel, into the public car park and towards the back me the hotel. The second challenge was getting into the car park. Our car is a saloon quite big and to say it was a tight squeeze would be putting it mildly. Like i said thankfully the hotel wasn't full so all the guests were able to park with spaces either side. I wouldn't like to try and get between two other cars! (and that's not spoken as a woman driver- i'm a fantastic driver!!)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemsNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

St patricks bank holiday weekend. We arrived sunday got a early checkin no problem. room was very clean
and good view of the city. we used the pool its a bit small 15mtrs but well maintained and lots of staff on duty. Restaurant food was the best for good portions and quality. Staff were very happy with any requests we had such as filling our flask for our long drive home, keeping bikes that we hired safe, etc. Good value for money and I would recommend it to anyone we are so happy we are booking to go back in June. n.b car park is on 3 levels and can be a bit full, just keep a eye out and you will find a space, after checkout is the best time to get a spot , It is in the city centre so its understandable that they dont have a space for everyone.
I have a Ba hons in Hospitality Management and know good service and quality when I get it.

Room Tip: it is a city centre hotel so their may be some noise from the busy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed in July. Family. No car parking available. Public car parking behind hotel. Have to be up to put ticket on windshield at 9am. Stairs access to lift as you access hotel through its car park after walking in from public car park. Wheelchair access thingy but not worth the hassle. amazing for such a huge hotel. really bad design. room stained and smelly. disappointed. spoke to manager who said to let her know when we'd be in killarney again. Didnt have much to offer when we did. poor. central allright. great pool and beauty. too busy. felt unsafe.

Room Tip: Try a good guest house. wheelchair accessable but with great difficulty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed here a no. of times with work and I am never disappointed.

• The rooms are lovely and modern.
• Magnificent lobby.
• Free Wi-Fi (Just call reception for the password)
• Free miniature Molton Brown products (Shampoo, shower gel etc ….) I love these!
• Great buffet breakfast to set you up for the day.
• Great food in Restaurant.
• Reasonable price.

Staff can be hit or miss but mostly very pleasant. For every 9 polite + friendly staff I have come across a cranky one. But they could say the same about the guests I suppose!
Customer Service needs to be looked at (Just a bit)

I honestly wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Killarney. Business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,251 reviews
0.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
International Hotel Killarney
2.2 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: RM575 - RM942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing