We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic family retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
niamhr01
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic family retreat”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I agree with others who reviewed here...Molassy Cottage was such an amazing stay I almost want to keep it a secret! Breda is the friendliest and most accommodating hostess you will ever meet and made our stay one of the best family trips we have ever had. Directions she provided are very accurate so its easy to find despite feeling like you're a million miles away from anyone which is so much of the appeal. The cottage itself is situated on a very secluded area which made it peaceful and so relaxing for our week there. The grounds and garden are fantastic for walks and climbing trees so made our four legged friends very happy not to mention the rest of us staying there. Its very central to many places so we could enjoy trips on many of the days there without travelling too far which was ideal when having an 8 month old and an excited pooch. Everything inside the cottage is pristine and immaculate yet so cosy and immediately makes you feel at ease. Cottage has wifi which made my teenage niece happy but with so many things on offer such as board games, DVDs, books, jigsaws (all provided by Breda) we were entertained from beginning to end. Rooms were so warm and welcoming and Breda made our trip much more stress free by providing travel cot, highchair, baby monitor, pram and everything else she could think of meaning our car wasn't laden down with all the usual essentials needed when travelling with a child.

We were already planning our next trip before we even left the place as each and everyone of us agreed this place is a one off - the welcome, the cottage and whole package is nothing we experienced before. Breda has made Molassy Cottage a holiday home that will have you return time and time again. We just hope that she will have places free for us once word gets out about this dream destination.

Cant recommend enough. This place gets full marks - on everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisiedai...
donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere inside and outside”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Whether it's bird-watching, golf, cycling or walking Molassey Cottage is the perfect base for a holiday. It's just off the beaten track so you have the lovely peace and quiet. Breda is the perfect host and is very helpful in every way. It's a home away from home and we would recommend it heartily.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55tony201...
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss. Loved it”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful Cottage and owner Breda was super helpful. Wish we had longer to stay there. Everything about the cottage and the stay was perfect. Tony and Wendy Oct 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, peace and tranquility
Liked least: Like most Ireland destinations, can be a bit hard to find address
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossM772
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Molassy Cottage was a hidden Gem. Fantastic cottage, old world charm, all mod cons and country quiet. Breda was a wonderful host and her directions to the cottage made it easy to find. Out of the way but only 5 minutes to Aldi. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabbitNew...
new forest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A very peaceful location with big garden which would be suitable for young children.
Friendly welcome from owner and lots of information given.
House clean and tidy, well maintained.
Location great for day trips in the area with a car.
All great but if you where traveling with young children you might need to be aware that the double bed and bathroom are down stairs and single beds are in a bedroom upstairs. So they wouldn't be near a bathroom in the night. Having said that this was not a problem for us and we had a fantastic time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location and the peace and quiet
Liked least: Small mugs for tea / coffee, otherwise all great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$129
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing