We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit”

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I always look forward to a visit to An Port Mor. I 'm afraid I do always have the same thing to eat there though,monkfish-but it is absolutely delicious. You're given lovely portion of fish but not too much veg so you're not uncomfortably full after it. They provide lovely petit fours after dessert and yummy lemoncello! The staff are friendly and it's not overly expensive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    165
    49
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy spot with excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Service is very good. Lovely menu with plenty of seafood. Great attention to detail.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank CMcL38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food, atmosphere, service & staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

What a restaurant. The food is superb, the staff amazing. Overall An Port Mor is a little gem in the heart of Westport which i would highly recommend. We will definately be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kergilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I had a 3 course dinner with my boyfriend obn a busy saturday night during month of November. Delicious food, well presented, friendly staff. Included nice touches such as complementary selection of breads (inc brown bread with seaweed) and tapenade. I would most definitely return and recommend to anyone who appreciates well prepared food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bloominefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fresh local produce, good seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I would rate this restaurant 9/10 for the food but for the overall experience only a 6/10. I'm deducting the points for 1 reason - I really dislike having plastic covers & disposable napkins - especially on a Saturday night. Ok for lunch but Never for dinner.
Our Starters were both excellent dishes full of flavour and well presented: pig cheeks and black pudding in apple & vanilla sauce, and goats cheese with beetroot etc.
We both chose from the Seafood special for mains, these were delicious and fresh and came with an assortment of fresh veg. I was slightly disappointed that the potato was just plain mash & it was a bit boring.
However The minor quibbles I have would not deter me from returning again. the service was attentive & friendly.
I should also mention that we had Homemade breads served with a tasty olive tapenade before our starters and finished with a shot of homemade limoncello and petit fours

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mulranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing