We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,347)
Filter reviews
2,347 results
Traveller rating
1,746
441
116
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,746
441
116
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews merlot restaurant jacuzzi bath roof garden silver experience sister hotel the castlecourt spa sula presidential suite mini bar leisure centre top class excellent hotel bar food underground parking hen party castle court from start to finish would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 2,347 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Having stayed here several times before with my husband this was the first stay as a group trip. It was absolutely perfect base for a friends catch up. We ate in the bar when we arrived and found staff attentive and the menu offering good choice. We especially liked the seafood choices! The spa is out of this world we spent hours in the outdoor hot tub! The rooms are spacious inviting and modern and we enjoyed the outdoor patio outside them. Breakfast after a night out on the town definitely hit the spot! Having stayed as part of a couple and as a group I would highly recommend the plaza as it's central location is perfect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JessieRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to see that you and your friends had such a nice time with us recently. Thank you very much for recommending us and in particular Spa Sula and also our food. The outdoor hot tub is indeed a great way to escape the sometimes cold March weather that we have had this year. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you to you and your husband for you loyalty.

With best wishes,

John Clesham

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This is definitely our fourth if not fifth time staying at the Westport Plaza - the welcome on arrival is very relaxed and most importantly, genuine. As was the check-out. That's lovely to see in a hotel because many times it can be robotic, disinterested or over-rehearsed. We both travel a lot so have the luxury of experiencing many four and five star hotels and, greeting on arrival at this hotel is up there with some of the nicest we've experienced.
The reception area/lobby of the hotel is filled with really comfortable sofas - perfect area to sit back and read a book or the complimentary papers provided.

It was our third time opting for the Gold Experience. We really do enjoy this experience offered by the hotel and the last two times we felt it was worth the extra money charged so booked same again.

This time we stayed in Room 604, our first time in this room. Nice, very spacious, well-decorated room with a large, comfortable bed. Separate jacuzzi bath and shower. Plenty of towels and toiletries provided so you don't have to go ringing for additional ones.
There are cookies left in the room on arrival and the Gold Experience also includes small bottle of both red and white wine and a miniature box of chocolates - nice touch.

At this stage, to come in line with other hotel experiences of the same standard we both agreed that there should be a coffee machine in the room. Rather than coffee/tea tray, Coffee machines in hotel rooms are a real treat we find and so handy. We felt it was what the Gold Experience is missing.

The remote control in the bedroom was not operating very well so we advised this to the cleaner in the hope that the batteries would be changed as we were finding it extremely difficult to operate the tv. Unfortunately this wasn't done and the remote was just left in the same position we had put it. This was frustrating and something I have since advised the hotel about by email but received no response in the week.
The email also contained the point that the Air Conditioning was extremely noisy in the room. Much noisier than we have ever experienced in that hotel before. The weather that particular weekend was very cold so luckily we did not require to use the AC much so this was moreso a point of information than a complaint to the hotel but again, no follow-up received.

We stayed for three nights so we got to experience every facet of the hotel.

The Gold Experience includes an hour in the Thermal Suite and, if you choose this option, definitely use the Thermal Suite. The Spa in the hotel is really lovely. Pure relaxation and luxury combined. It is not the best laid-out Thermal Suite in the country at all but you will certainly make-do with what they have, there is no doubt about that. We really loved the hour we spent there. The outdoor heated pool is so private and a relaxed, calm and glorious experience is easily created without the knowledge that there is actually a car park on the other side of the wall. The staff are extremely friendly there also.

There is also complimetary use of the Castlecourts gym & swimming pool. The swimming pool, although busy, is a good size with a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room to accompany it. The gym is only average sized but well-equipped. We used it early two mornings so there was no problem with the size for us. Again, the staff in the reception area of the pool/gym are really friendly and helpful.

We opted for different items each morning at breakfast as the first morning we found the fry to be extremely salty. There is a cold self-service buffet and hot items are ordered from the kitchen. The choice is very good and Vegans and Coeliacs are well-catered for. The pastry options are vast, fresh and delicious. The staff, though not very communicative, are very pro-active at clearing the tables so you do not have a build-up of delph on a small table - plenty of space and you can eat your breakfast with ease and comfort.
There are some supplemental charges on the menu that are very disappointing to see eg. pancakes and 3-egg omelet is an additional €2.50 per portion - both items that incur no extra charge in the majority of other hotels of the same standard.
The third morning my husband ordered an omelet and it was the biggest waste of €2.50 - tiny portion, luke-warm and lacked any flavour for a ham & cheese omelet.

We have bought vouchers for many different family members to stay here over the last 9/10 years and, as I said, this is our 4th/5th time staying here ourselves so the above review is well-thought, well-experienced and by no means in haste as so many reviews can often be.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WhereToTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share so much valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. Your review is very well written and informative and we will take on board all the areas that you mentioned. We are very pleased to see that you were very happy overall and we greatly appreciate all your custom over the years. We also note some areas for improvement and we will work on these. I am sorry we did not get back to your sooner but we have since checked the aircon and TV remote as if this was not done the problem would persist for future guests so we thank you for letting us know .I will have a closer look at our omelettes. If you were not happy just mention it and we would take off the supplement. We just have a supplement on a few dishes to control our breakfast service as unregulated demand on very busy mornings could result in delays.
Thanks again for staying with us and recommending us to family members and we look forward to welcoming you back again for your next stay.

With best wishes on behalf of all the team,

John Clesham

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Really nice hotel. I would definitely go back. The rooms were perfect and we are there on our first night. We had ribs which were gorgeous!


A short walk to the main strip which had loads of pubs and restaurants to choose from. We used the swimming pool every day too.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your nice review. Our ribs are very popular. We brine them in house marinating them in our secret sauce. We hope you will be back soon for more!

With best wishes,

John Clesham

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty. The hotel is fabulous. We did receive an upgrade for our anniversary which was a lovely surprise. The staff all friendly and very professional. We had treatments in the sula spa very relaxing. My husband and I would definitely stay again in the future and we would recommend to family and friends. Thank you to all the staff for a very memorable stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank semhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Congratulations to you both on your recent anniversary. We are delighted that you decided to stay with us on such a special occasion and to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your lovely review and we hope to have you back for many anniversaries to come!

With kind regards,

John Clesham

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here 18th and 19th March. Such a lovely hotel. All you want if you want to relax. Breakfast first class. Staff so helpful and thermal suite fantastic all you want for great value ☺️

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aaronbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and found us to be great value. Thanks also for your kind words for our staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

With best wishes on behalf of all the team ,

John Clesham

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews