We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
James Tymon cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
James Tymon cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
James Tymon cottage.
Our simple to operate stove with unlimited turf supplied for your stay.
Living room with views over courtyard
Everything you require will be found in our well equipped kitchen.
Old hand made glass with shutters in our bathroom.
19th century wrought iron bed frame.
Looking for a good read? Try one of ours.
View from the landing towards the double doors leading to the front porch.
Relax in our courtyard.
Looking up river from river path.
Path at rear of haybarn.
Garden with views of outbuildings
Snow on stone.
Auyumn colour.
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with a double and a large (4') single beds.
Living room with satalite tv,books and games or why not relax in front of the fire with a glass of wine
Speckled light on path from Rookery.
Cartway leading through wrought iron gate to meadows beyond
Enjoy a walk on the river path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sligo, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
morween
manchester, england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed for four nights, wished we could have stayed longer. Amazing cottage, very welcoming and one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in. Lots of lovely treats and stunning log burner to welcome us. A total gem and well worth a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2014
It was a great pleasure meeting you all and I am very happy that the cottage was all that you hoped it would be. After you left such wonderful comments in my guest book at the cottage I didn't expect that you would go to all the extra trouble of writing a review on Trip Advisor. It was a very pleasant surprise to be told you had done just that. With many thanks for your generous comments may I say I look forward to meeting you back at the cottage again in the not too distant future.
best wishes,


Kieran Ruane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esyled
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Birthday Present”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was a birthday present for my sister who wanted to stay in Ireland on St Patrick's day before her birthday.
She was not disappointed we had a lovely time. The cottage is a real gem and home from home. Kieran had prepared the fires for when we arrived and there was a lovely rhubarb pie to greet us.
The peat fires make it very cosy and a fantastic selection of reading material is available. Must not forget to mention the sumptuous mattresses on the beds for a great nights sleep.
Some great walking on the doorstep along the river.
The locals are really friendly and helpful and there is a store in Gurteen which has everything you need.
Ballymote is a short drive away on your way through to Sligo.
Only one thing the four days was far too short and should have done longer so will next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and setting
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
I am delighted you both had an enjoyable experience at the cottage particularly as it was your first visit to Ireland.Thank you for your kind comments on the comfortable beds, the selection of books and the peat fires. Really pleased you took advantage of the walks on the land. It is certainly lovely and peaceful along by the river. I look forward to seeing you both back at the cottage again sometime in the future.

Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kek17
Ceprano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming cottage in central location”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We arrived on a cool, rainy day to be greeted warmly by Kieran who had the turf fires burning in the stove and fireplace, making us feel immediately at home. Kieran showed us around the property, which is very well cared for and even more charming than the pictures demonstrate. The much talked about apple pie was waiting (and boy was it good!) on a tray with all the fixings for a nice pot of tea. What wonderful Irish hospitality! The house was equipped with everything we needed, including pots and pans for cooking in. There's a small grocery store in town to pick up supplies, as well as numerous supermarkets in the surrounding towns. It is a great central location for visiting the area, within an hour drive of so many places it is hard to pick and choose. In Gurteen village there's the Coleman Traditional Irish Music Center with live music shows. Unfortunately for us there were no shows during our stay. We highly recommend a visit to Eagles Flying in Ballymote, just a short drive away. We would happily stay here again if we return to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
I am really grateful to you for reviewing my cottage so positively. I am pleased you found it to be so central for exploring the surrounding counties. As you said you are within an hour of most attractions and I whole heartly agree with you abour visiting the Raptor centre which is just a few miles from the cottage. It is a real pleasure to observe those rare birds and the care they receive. Perhaps you will return sometime in the future to James Tymon cottage and you can be assured of a very warm welcome.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korschenbroich, Germany
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy athmosphere
Liked least: we liked everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Thank you for such a generous and thoughtful review. I am really pleased you found the cottage matched your expectations especially as you had travelled so far to get here. I try to provide all that is needed to make a stay at the cottage both enjoyable and relaxing. Your enthusism and interest in the history of the cottage was very welcome.
It was wonderful meeting you and your family and I am sure you will have fond memories of your visit to Ireland for a long time to come. Until the next time - auf widersehen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marshall5...
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable ,secure and so peaceful and stunning views”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

we as a family would highly recommend the James Tymon cottage its ideal for all age groups . the cottage is very comfortable and clean well looked after .the views are breathtaking the acres of land are fantastic for walks and for children and pets to play .. would like to say what a polite friendly warm welcome we recieved from the owner ,mr kieran Ruane .myself partner and daughter fell in love with the place and are definitely going back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: there was no dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review James Tymon cottage. It was a great pleasure meeting you and your family. I am very pleased you all enjoyed the cottage and grounds so much. You can really get away from it all on the paths and trails through the fields and by the river with only the sound of bird life to accompany you. As you said it's ideal for all age groups and especially for those with children and pets with lots to explore. With the peace and quiet it can be difficult to believe the village is only 1km away.
I am looking forward to having you return to the cottage in 2014. Best wishes until then.
Kieran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$86
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing