We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arden House(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Welford Bed & Breakfast(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$99
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Lifestyle Apartments(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Lodge Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$371/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hazel Manor(Harrogate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
16
10
12
19
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
10
12
19
45
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked two nights in this hotel as bed and breakfast through the late booking room website.
I arrived at 2230 and there was no one in the reception! They have left the key with a note for me to read and find my own room. On the morning, I realised that there was no breakfast to be served! Hotel apologised that there are no longer able to provide breakfast for any user. Regarding the room, it is clean with comfortable bed but there were major issues related to the room. The smell of carpet is offal. There is no telephone in the room. There is a kettle in the room, if you switch it on the TV switches off! Wi-Fi one night was not available and the other night I was unable to use.

The hotel is very well placed but with an extremely very poor management. The place is a walking distance from the city center and train station. This not a place you would advise anyone to stay in and it is not for families. With the same room price, you would be able to book in far much better hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lol. What can I say. Awful disgusting rude unhelpful. Let's put it this way. The woman who owns it clearly didn't go to business school as she hasn't. the first clue about running a business. We needed up here because every where else was booked. Loved Harrogate. Loved the people the atmosphere etc but this hotel is hideous. Will NEVER EVER EVER EVER STEP FOOT IN THE PLACE EVER AGAIN AS LONG AS I LIVE. rude and unhelpful is what springs to mind. NO TOWELS NO HAIR DRYER. we were given a room which already had guests checked in. If you think ahh we just need somewhere to stay and it doesn't matter. You would be better kipping in your car. Straight up. It's awful !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mart121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have avoided B and B's for many years but we're won over by the many positive reviews we saw about Ashley House.We stayed two nights and without doubt we could find no fault.The room was beautiful and well appointed.It was extraordinarily clean,not that we were playing Four in a Bed but it would have to have scored 10.Breakfast was a perfect combination of fresh fruit salad and an amazingly locally sourced full English.
Nicky,the host was wonderful and converted us to the concept of B and B which we had avoided in favour of often much less pleasing 4 and 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

April 2014
I booked a double room for 1 night for my wife and myself.
On arrival the first thing you notice is the bad smell. The landlady insisted on payment first. I paid by debit card and then went to the room. The bathroom was filthy the glasses and cups dirty, the curtains in the bedroom dirty with burn marks and the window frames black with dirt. She offered to clean the place and went away to get cleaning materials and started to clean the room while I watched.
I said I cannot stay here and asked for my money back. She got quite nasty and refused point blank.
Despite not getting our money back we could not stay there and went to Grants hotel on Swan road which was great.
Avoid the Ashley at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoovercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked this room as we were attending a last minute family party and it was the only room we could find, due to the flower show being on. Arrived at reception, to find it deserted. just a pile of keys on top of cards with your name on, and a note to say we had to ring a number. Was told over the phone that we were in room 6 which was up 4 flights of stairs We had to find our own way there.. The door to our room, looked dirty and shoddy, but we thought it didn't matter as we just needed somewhere to sleep for the night, so we didn't need the Ritz. Entered the room and noticed that 2 beds had been pushed together on one side and the bedside cabinets that should have been on either side, where on one side of the bed. As i needed the loo after our journey, i went straight to the bathroom. Noticed the sanitary sticker that normally seals the loo seat, looked old and unsealed. Lifted the seat to find it used and unflushed. Great!!! Above the sink were 2 glasses, both were stuck to the surface and filthy, as though someone had stored toothbrushes in them for months. Took them down and gave them to a lady and asked for replacements. She then gave them to a man, telling him they hadnt been cleaned. They must have been in that room for months! She then asked if i would pay. Geez talk about giving you time to check in. Went back to the room and decided to dump our stuff and go out for a bit. On our return, there was nobody around so went up to our room. No replacement glasses. looking around more closely, i noticed what was either blood or dried tomato sauce stuck to one of the besdide cabinets, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, clumps of cobweb stuck to the dressing table area, the floor mat hanging over the bath, was grubby. Lifted the slip mat from out of the bath to find hairs in the bath. The bed looked ok, but the valance had food stuck to it, One of the pillows, was thick yellow from sweat, so i chucked it in the wardrobe, One of the hand towels had black marks all over it, where someone had dried dirty hands. There was wallpaper hanging off the walls too. As we could not move anywhere else, we had to stay put. We decided to have a coffee.. The Kettle had food stuck to the lid, and the plug did not reach the socket so had to be placed on the floor. Went to put sugar in cups, only to find that the sugar sachets, were rock hard, with yellow stains on. Think someone must have spilled coffee or tea on them and left them to dry, so we decided to go without and have water from the other glasses left on the tea tray, but no, these too were filthy.
Thought we would watch tv, Turned it on, and oh dear, the sound was distorted on all channels. everyone sounded like those murderers who ring the police and muffle their voices.
We then noticed that not only had the beds been pushed up to the wall, but a 2 seater sofa and chair had been placed at the foot of the bed, making it impossible for anyone sleeping on the inside, to get out of bed without climbing over the person on the other side.
We decided to go out and only come back when we were too tired to care. Came back around 10.30 pm, to the stink of some unknown food. Walked past the kitchen/room, to see the staff sitting eating. The smell went all the way up the stair and made my stomach heave. The huge dog was also there and started barking. Managed to get some sleep and got up early and went downstairs to go out for a walk. Noticed that all the fire doors which read "keep clear", were propped open by chairs. We left as soon as we could. Cost us £70 for the night. This place needs shutting down, dirty smelly, disgusting and a health risk!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you are a vagrant and dont care about where you sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nodwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews