We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sunday lunch”
Review of William & Victoria

William & Victoria
Ranked #30 of 401 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An independent family run restaurant and wine bar serving traditional British food in the heart of Harrogate. William & Victoria has developed a reputation for great food served in a relaxed and unfussy style. Hearty Yorkshire portions of locally sourced meat and fish served in a cosy wine bar/bistro that oozes character and personality with a buzz created by it's popularity with locals that you will find any day of the week. The wine bar is open all afternoon serving a variety of drinks along with bar tapas. Owner and front of house, David Straker, is at the 'helm' most evenings and on hand to recommend wines from an extensive and well balanced wine list. More spacious dining areas with seating for 50 people, along with another well stocked bar, is situated upstairs along with a private dining room ideal for business entertaining and private parties.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal, good food, helpful staff and a nice atmosphere. Nice Sunday roast and if you are looking for good classic British food this is for you.

Thank HJA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_and_Victoria, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

I'm pleased you enjoyed our Sunday lunch. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Well positioned in the centre of town , welcoming staff and a varied menu with freshly prepared food at a reasonable price...well worth a visit if you are in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edoshaughnessy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_and_Victoria, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Both myself and my wife opted for downstairs and booked previously based upon recommendations from other TripAdvisor reviewers.

First impressions Upon entering the place down a couple of steps you walk into a small wood cladded bar area filled with chalk boards covering the menu.

The barman dressed in shirt and tie was friendly and courteous and the overall the staff of W&V Couldn’t do enough for you.

The restaurant is a nice and intimate place plenty of space with a candle burning away on the table and most importantly the food compliments the place.

The bowl of Tikka Marsala chicken was nice and flavoursome the Venison Wellington was excellent.

I would definitely recommend W&V and what complimented the restaurant experience was a true local and Yorkshire character who was celebrating his 85th birthday

Many thanks for the service and the next time I’m in Harrogate I will definitely come back

Great service - good food and a enjoyable experience

1  Thank robertslpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_and_Victoria, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to William & Victoria and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I visited with colleagues from an exhibition and we were indeed the table from hell; one person was gluten and dairy intollerant, one wanted specific drinks, one was vegan. They managed to find delicious food to suit us all and were friendly and welcoming too. We were a table of seven and some had starters, which we all great. I had some sweet potato felafel on a bed of salad, bread and butter plus oil and vinegar was complimentary and brough swiftly tot the table, as was water. Of course, they had gluten free bread too! For our main courses, this varied between a steak (so god the person stopped talking), a chicken tikka curry with popadoms that were feather-light, a tuna steak and for me, they made me a vegan mushroom risotto which was delicious. There is a serious wine menu of over 70 wines; we had a fantastic Chilean Carmenere but could have had a Chateuneuf du Pape or a Mouton Rothschild if you want to push the boat out. We ate in the downstairs dining room, which is like being in an old pu with wooden tables and pews, though there is a fancier restaurant upstairs too. There's also an area for drinking and eating tapas. Plenty of local produce served and this place is soemthing of a local institution. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sausage19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_and_Victoria, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback of your experience. It is wonderful to hear that everyone in your party was happy with their food choices. We hope you will book again next time you visit Harrogate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

William & Victoria is the perfect place to entertain guests or just have a quiet meal for two. Offering a varied and excellent menu with a very vibrant atmosphere, above all, served by very attentive staff. They make you feel special, nothing was too much trouble.

1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_and_Victoria, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for the great review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed the vibrant atmosphere and attentive service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William & Victoria also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to William & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing