We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super property in a very special location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gloucester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deniseHam...
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super property in a very special location”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A very cosy and characterful property with everything needed for a comfortable' home from home' stay.The welcome milk and biscuits, tea and coffee made us feel at home immediately.The house has all the extras you need to enjoy a stay at any time of the year from barbecue and outside furniture in the pretty garden in summer to board games and books tv/dvd/music in winter.There were no "if only there was a..." conversation as everything had been provided. The location is great unless you have very small children as the water is very deep just outside the door.
Very close to the centre of the city plus the very smart Quays development is on the doorstep so loads of choice for eating out within a pleasant stroll.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Wow! Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us! We are over the moon you had a fabulous holiday and that you felt at home instantly. To hear that there was nothing lacking in The Lock House is music to our ears - this is always something we strive for! We hope that you come back and visit us soon, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod P
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic cottage at Gloucester docks”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wow! What a lovely home this is. We really enjoyed staying here. We were visiting from Australia for a family wedding and this was an ideal place to stay. As we were arriving late in the evening straight from the airport we really appreciated having the heating on and house warmed prior to our arrival. This cottage is well situated within an easy walk to the city but being next to the lock it felt more like a country house. It was a lot bigger than I expected and there was plenty of room for a family of 6 adults. Our only issue was that being a family of tall people fitting into the standard sized double and single beds was a challenge. The only other slight problem was that the markings on the oven controls have been wiped off so our first use of the two ovens didn't go quite according to plan!
While the home itself lends to a family with young children, the proximity to water and easy access to same would concern me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historic building and position
Liked least: Bed size
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the property and also hope you enjoyed your stay in England and come back again in future with ourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally20
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best location ever”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We finally managed to get our busy daughters and their partners together for a holiday. And there was something for everyone, although we all enjoyed watching the comings and goings through the lock. The canal lock was at the front of the house and the River Severn at the back, with various paths for country walking and walking easily into the city. We all loved this wonderfully well equipped cottage with its helpful owners. A special nod to Vanessa on The Cafe on the Cut for a particularly memorable breakfast.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redpanda2...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is an amazing house to access the town centre and Quays, everything you could need is here, the house was clean and very homely.
the stairs are steep and my elderly mother couldn't get up them so we did have to buy a z bed for downstairs for her to sleep in but this was no problem but worth bearing in mind with disablied people.
I can not find anything to fault and we will definatly be returning again.
The milk, tea coffee and biscults in arrival were a lovely touch and as all beding and towels are included it made for a easy stress free break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The steep stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quarry bank
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing