We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mums Birthday ”
Review of The Ugly Duckling

The Ugly Duckling
Ranked #19 of 325 Restaurants in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
Description: The Ugly Duckling dates back to 1810 and is a fabulous combination of contemporary and Georgian design, combined with an orangery extension, expressing the best of old and new.
Restaurant details
Description: The Ugly Duckling dates back to 1810 and is a fabulous combination of contemporary and Georgian design, combined with an orangery extension, expressing the best of old and new.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely restaurant in a lovely pub. Very clean, great toilets! Only the lunch menu available, steaks quite fatty as a rule, but overall not bad I suppose. Cider had to be returned as flat, second one not great. Could be amazing, sadly not.

2  Thank MarkyMark68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are happy to hear your thoughts of our restaurant/pub, however we are sorry to hear your steak was fatty and you had to return your cider. We hope you return for another visit and you have a better dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I was surprised by my wife who had secretly arranged lunchtime meal with her friend and partner in the restaurant at The Ugly Duckling. The car park at the side of The Ugly Duckling is large enough for about thirty cars and there appears to be more parking at the rear of the building.

My wife and friend had booked a table in advance. When we arrived we were placed in a comfortable booth with two blue 'buttoned' leather bench seats against a wall, facing a fixed table. Once seated the places were comfortable ,although it was a bit of a struggle for the ladies to get along the seating to get into position.

The drinks were ok , I had a half of Salopian Lemon Dream, which was ok although nothing special.

We ordered a main course , I ordered an ox cheek and chocolate stout pie whilst my wife ordered chicken breast. We both thought our meals were cooked well and pleasantly filling. We found the service much better than our first visit and really liked the sweet course which left us feeling as if we did not need to eat for the rest of Easter!

Thank Tyke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Ugly Duckling for your lunchtime meal and that you found the service much better this time! We are delighted you were impressed with the food and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Easter break. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch,the menu was not what you would expect it was very limited. We both decided on the fish and chips. When we got it the fish was placed on top of the chips and the grease had soaked the plate as well as the chips. The peas were dry as if over microwaved and it all tasted as if cooked in dirty oil.
We will not be returning again.

5  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise you did not enjoy your visit. As for the limited lunch menu, we have 11 starters, 9 main meals, 10 sides to choose from and also 6 desserts. We don't think this is very limited as all of our food is freshly prepared. We change our menus seasonally to ensure a wider range of variety to our customers. In regards to the fish and chips this is one of our most popular dishes (we sold 65 portions last Friday and received nothing but positive feedback from every guest) so this is a shock to us to hear that you did not enjoy it.

All we can do is apologise for your experience, but we wish you had brought this to our attention whilst you were here so that we could of rectified this for you.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch and wasn't really impressed. Portions were really small for what you pay for, my husband's chicken portion would of fed a child. We sat on tables like you do at Nandos, we couldn't really relax as you can hear all other people's conversations. All in all we came away quite disappointed and still hungry.

1  Thank ticpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience with us, we usually receive compliments about our portion sizes so this is a shame to hear. Unfortunately due to the fact that Sunday is one of our busiest days, we can't guarantee that you won't be sat near other guests as we try to accommodate everyone. We hope that you give us another chance and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards, The Ugly Duckling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We pop in here occasionally on one of our regular routes.

On this occasion we had a light lunch.

I chose the confit duck leg and my wife had the hummus.

Both were enjoyable. I tasted the hummus (it was a generous portion) and liked it although I have had tastier ones. My duck was very pleasant.

We had a large glass of pinot grigio and a j2o with the food and followed with two coffees.

Total cost of £21.55 was good value. Service was good. We will keep going here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChloeH-uglyduckling, Manager at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We glad you enjoyed your overrall visit and we look forward to seeing again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ugly Duckling also viewed

 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Ugly Duckling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing