We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay, very quiet, great food and lovley atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #8 of 34 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This was the first choice for my husband and I as when we lived in Milton Keynes and we're young we used to visit this pub for meals. The shoulder of mutton is very welcoming for all, the staff are great and are so helpful, rooms all equipped with the basics you need for a comfortable stay. Fab cooked breakfast to.

Room Tip: Great lower floor rooms for people with a dog/s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2016

The chef is very creative with exceptional attention to detail and presentation. Everything was perfectly cooked for my roast lunch (I can't comment on the meat as I had a meat-free portion but my fellow diners cleared their plates of beef and pork). Dessert was perfect. The web site talks of 'gambling' lambs in the surrounding fields but I never found the roulette table!! I feel that the service, whilst efficient, lacked warmth. Large groups (more than 10) appear to create some tension and there seemed a huge rush to settle the bill, clear the table, wash up and put the cutlery back in the dresser bit like Guide Camp. The chef, though, is very talented.

Room Tip: ignore room ratings. I only ate there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

We live just a short walk away and just recently found this place. Nice place to sit outside and have a drink. You can't eat outside which is a shame as it was a lovely evening. Food was good with reasonable prices. We'll be back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

This not a hotel review. It is a restaurant review:
When we drove out for a Sunday lunch and decided to go to an out of the way village pub with a garden in the countryside, little did we know we were about to sample a level of cooking and presentation on the plate to rival 5 star London cooking. All modestly priced and in a low key setting no frills rural setting - who knew? When we saw the menu we assumed it would be microwaved prefab pub grub so opted for the sunday roast beef and the roast pork and then trundled through to sit in the garden at a picnic bench, which is lovely as long as you don't look to your right, as the car park is right there and car grills very close (a waist or chest high picket fence with a flowering vine growing along it may be a nice way to solve that problem... as the views in the peaceful setting are beautiful and very relaxing. The service is attentive, warm and friendly. The food arrived quickly and was delicious... ALL homemade... even the apply sauce for the deliciously tender pork... the quantity is healthy, the other guests are quiet and respectful, the presentation is beautiful and the variety of perfectly cooked veg, roast potatoes and tender flavourful roast meat was exceptional. We couldn't believe how good it was. So we had dessert from a selection of original creations (the fried rice pudding fritters with homemade strawberry jam ice cream was amazing but the rosemary cheesecake with home made mint chocolate chip ice cream in a basket... there are no words... the artistry of both the presentation and the preparation was winning master chef level. Rest assured everything on that menu will be homemade from fresh pure ingredients and worthy of thrice the price! If front of house presentation were brought up to match the quality of the food, this would a fine dining establishment. The chef really is superior in every way and hugely talented. I hope they appreciate him. We will go back again and again! A fantastic time and experience.

Room Tip: NO idea about staying there - but the food was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just go for lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene K, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very much appreciated. We have had the pub for just over 2 years and have worked hard to provide home cooked pub food at a competitive price. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Our priority has been on getting our menu right so that people will enjoy their meal with us and will want to return. We are aware that we now need to maintain our food standard and now look to other aspects such as the garden/ car park as your comments suggest.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

The worst, most unfriendly pub I have ever had the misfortune to visit. If you are a family, if you have children, if there are more than 6 of you, avoid this place at all costs. Yesterday my son's local football team had won the cup, so the parents agreed to go to McDonald's on the way home. The plan then changed to the shoulder of mutton, as its on our way home. We arrived, found a few tables, ordered 20 bowls of chips, to be told they can only do 10 at a time because they are a small pub. We then all ordered drinks and waited for the chips to arrive. Although there were at least 16 children, they behaved very well and we encouraged them to play outside when they were not eating. My daughter and her friend found a little table in the corner and sat their quietly. The lady behind the bar told them they had to move and can't sit there. Upset, the girls moved. There was no-one else waiting for a seat, they were free and no one else came into the pub, who may want them. With nowhere else to sit, she sat on a stall near the bar, next to my partner. Next the landlady comes out and tells her in a very rude way to move. The way she spoke to her, made her cry in front of everyone. If she wasn't allowed to sit near the bar, fine. It was however, her rude, cold and unfriendly nature that was not acceptable. Then abruptly moving our coats and telling all of us to stay up one end. My partner reminded her we were paying customers. She didn't seem to care. She then kept asking who was in charge of this event. She was also very rude towards my pregnant friend at this point and my friend told her she was being confrontational for no reason! Clearly they didn't want us there, but were happy to take our order for many drinks and food. The landlady did not handle this in a professional way. It's no wonder this place is usually empty now. We are all local and will never return! Should've gone to McDonald's!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank gramson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
8.9 km away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
13.6 km away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Little Brickhill
282 reviews
13.5 km away
The Old Stables
The Old Stables
#1 of 1 in Woburn Sands
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 2 in Sherington
86 reviews
7.9 km away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#2 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
390 reviews
8.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: Calverton, Milton Keynes MK19 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range: RM298 - RM412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shoulder of Mutton 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2013.Nestled in the picturesque Buckinghamshire countryside, the Shoulder of Mutton prides itself on it’s friendly atmosphere, fine selection of real ales, beers, wines and home cooked pub meals. Whether you’re dropping in for a quick bite, a drink, a relaxing meal, or staying with us for a little longer, you can be sure of a warm friendly welcome from Pauline, Irene, Dave and Paul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing