We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #8 of 35 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2017


I worked in Milton Keynes two days a week so have stayed here every Thursday night for the past 2 1/2 years. Having now taken a job closer to home I must say I am really going to miss this place. It is such a beautiful setting - only 10 minutes outside MK but feeling like the middle of the countryside. I love waking up to the sound of sheep in the neighbouring field!

The rooms could do with a lick of paint but new owners Will and Mandy instantly made improvements to the showers, have brought in more customers in recent months and have always made me feel more than welcome.

I highly recommend the shoulder of mutton and honestly will miss my regular Thursday nights in my home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andrewedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I are fortunate to be able to lunch out most days somewhere in Milton Keynes. The Shoulder of Mutton is clean and tidy and has quickly become one of our favourite places to eat and drink. The menu choice is great and the chef (landlord) really cares about the quality of the food he sends to the table......it's by far the best food around, freshly cooked to order, nothing seems to be to much trouble.
The very friendly landlady runs the well stocked bar and front of house and is always very attentive to everybody.
She runs her small team very well.
Large car park, dog friendly in the small bar.
Very much worth a visit....

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tonytinaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Stayed here for one night for a surprise party held in the bar area.
From the moment we arrived we were not made welcome and the landlady couldn't have made it clearer she did not want to hold this event, consequently didn't seem to want us there!
No smiles, snappy answers, when we asked where the rooms were we were told with a pointed finger 'over there!' Not the friendliness of welcomes. we felt ignored when we tried to order a drink as we were not regulars. During the evening there were additional staff behind the bar who were very good and friendly.
Buffet was good as was breakfast, just a shame the landlady was so negative towards our party and on occasion was quite rude. A lot of effort was made by my niece and a lot of money was passed over the bar. Plus we took 5 of the 6 rooms! Unfortunately the landlady reduced the service score to 2 out of 5
Our room was small with metal framed beds. Wall mirror was right beside the bed, could be better placed so you could get to it properly. No toiletries in the small shower. Fan didn't always switch off automatically. Couldn't find a hairdryer in any of the drawers in room 1, can't open the curtains to this room as looks onto the car park. Would suggest choosing an upstairs room if you decide to stay. Also watch the small step into the room, especially when there is no light. Rooms badly need updating but i undestand the cost is reasonable compared to staying in MK and the bedding was clean. Lovely location and has masses of potential if the relatively new owners can make improvements to the rooms and the service.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room where you may get a view and can open the curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgersWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We have just been to the shoulder of mutton for my mum's birthday meal . The food was really great and the lady who served us was very helpful . There was no background music . This was really helpful as my mum and dad suffer with hearing loss . They were able to hear all the conversations .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Visited on a Tuesday evening and it was nice and busy. The service wasn't fast but the food was well cooked and delicious. I had the lamb shank and my companion had steak and ale pie - both very good. I would certainly recommend the maple pecan tart for pud!

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
8.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
7.9 km away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#1 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
401 reviews
13.6 km away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Little Brickhill
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
12.6 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 2 in Sherington
87 reviews
10.4 km away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: Calverton, Milton Keynes MK19 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shoulder of Mutton 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2013.Nestled in the picturesque Buckinghamshire countryside, the Shoulder of Mutton prides itself on it’s friendly atmosphere, fine selection of real ales, beers, wines and home cooked pub meals. Whether you’re dropping in for a quick bite, a drink, a relaxing meal, or staying with us for a little longer, you can be sure of a warm friendly welcome from Pauline, Irene, Dave and Paul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing