We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing anniversary meal”
Review of The Wavendon Arms

The Wavendon Arms
Ranked #106 of 612 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step into this family friendly establishment, you’ll be able to enjoy delicious selection of starters, mains, light bites, desserts, and sharing platters that are sure to satisfy all appetites and tastes. Situated in a typical English village on the outskirts of Milton Keynes, this family friendly pub, bar, and restaurant will accommodate all of your dining requirements. Whether you pop in for lunch, dinner, or drinks, we offer an expansive menu featuring a whole host of hearty mains, as well as a great selection of real ales, lagers, and wines. We are also a child friendly pub, so please feel free to bring your little ones along. They will love making their way through our dedicated children’s menu.
Reviewed 23 July 2018

One of our favourite pubs around Milton Keynes, I booked a table for our wedding anniversary before we went to the theatre.
As we arrived it was really busy as they also had a Champagne function going on in the garden which I knew nothing about when I booked.
Even though it was extremely busy we had no problem getting a pre-meal drink whilst waiting on our table.
The staff are always very friendly and attentive with absolutely no pressure.
We both chose Scallops to start, followed by Lamb Koftas for main. All of this food was served piping hot and cooked absolutely perfectly. Thanks to the chef.
Really do love coming here and the service we received makes my 5 stars so worthwhile. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Wavendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so much for the great review. This is the reason we do our jobs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Have visited many times and I think it's fair to say this place is consistent. On the pricier side of things for both food and drink but the staff have always been a pleasure to deal with. Nice outside space for the summer and a nice open fire for the winter make this a worthwhile visit.

Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Wavendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thanks for the kind words, hopefully we will have a little longer before we have to light those fires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We’re not the sort of family that like to order within minutes or arriving and be out within the hour, but the service today was poor.

On a warm day, the drinks took far too long to come and we’re even forgotten about when we ordered a second round.

The food was pretty good and we enjoyed it, but after ordering puddings we decided not to wait after over half an hour and so paid the bill and left.

We had two young children with us which makes waiting even more tedious!

It was my mother in laws birthday and the constant delays made the meal less enjoyable. I doubt we’ll be back any time soon.

2  Thank Wes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Wavendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

I am glad you enjoyed your food, and we do somtimes get it wrong, and on this occassion the speed of service was not good enough. We are working hard to sort and feel that when you return it will be far superior to what you experienced before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

5 of is stopped for drinks and a chat, 2 of us were eating. We were sitting in the bar area. This place used to be stunning. Glamorous, shiny, clean, well attended. And it's been 2 years since we went last, despite being locals as it had deteriorated so badly.

Decided to give it a new chance and found its even worse than before. Have a look at the photos on this review. Stains up the wall, holes in the wall, ripped wall paper. Blood on the ladies sanitary bin lid (not just from that day), a toilet lid that wouldn't be amiss far away from the furthest track in the outback and a filthy sink pulling away from the wall, where bacteria can breed. Nice.

Now if somewhere is this dirty where you can see it, imagine how dirty it is where you can't.

Without having a full recce first (else we would have gone hungry) we ordered 2 pizzas. The menu doesn't have a simple vegetarian pizza anymore, so a custom build was necessary, really, in 2018? The pizzas turned up and our waitress said she was off to get us a pizza cutter.

As she walked back she was picking at the cutter to get old dried food off it. She dropped it off and I asked if the pizzas came with cutlery - a fork, knife and serviettes. She said "You have to get them yourself, they're over there" (near her). I said I'd just paid £10 a pizza shouldn't basic service be included? And was told "That's how it is in the bar service area." Awesome.

We collected our cutlery, from a mish mash of different sizes and weights like a cheap café, and went to see someone else to get a clean cutter.

Pizzas were average, on a par with shop bought, with undercooked dough, and rocket on top left under a lamp too long which was wet and wilted as a result.

If it was 2 years since we last visited, I think it'll be much longer this time. Embarrassingly for the Wavendon Arms, the low end Caldecotte Arms (a Fayre and Square!) has had a revamp a couple of months ago that places it way above here and for a significantly better price.

If you want quality, we still maintain you should head to The Birch in next door Woburn Sands, 10 mins down the road.

Shame on the Wavendon Arms.

Thank adamchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Wavendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

If you would like to discuss futher, please call 01908 584277

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Met my girlfriend here for lunch on a very warm day in July. We had both driven in separately (so cannot comment on the quality of their alcoholic products), first thing I noticed is that they have a big car park.

The interior of the premises is pleasant - we sat by the fireplace in the bar area. Both our meals were very enjoyable (I had fried halloumi and the lady had the fishcakes).

    • Food
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Wavendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Glad you both eenjoted, please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wavendon Arms also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 
Great Linford, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Wavendon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing