We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very pleasant

Variety of activities, maybe a little basic but still an enjoyable day spent with a group of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jjwhitfield
,
Maidstone, United Kingdom
via mobile
Way past its best

Relatively cheap compared with local competitors but this shows, the changing facilities need... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Char21A
,
Maidstone, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 283 reviews
  
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
133
55
29
38
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
55
29
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming lessons polar adventure wave machine weight management holiday club swimming club soft play lane swimming lose weight changing facilities school holidays excellent facilities reception staff family swim wave pool gym equipment great fun
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

My daughter has been participating in swimming lessons on a Saturday for a few weeks now and I am very happy with the progress that she has been making. The teachers give feedback on what she needs to work on to get to the next stage and seem generally interested in the progress she is making. I am very happy with the standard of teaching and would recommend the lessons to a friends of ours.

However, I do find it very off putting that one of the teachers walks around the pool in a track suit and recently decided to get his phone out and go on it whilst letting another teacher teach the lesson. It was then pointed out to me by another parent that he was the manager. I feel as this is a bit of a concern, but I was unsure who to raise this issue with.

Other than this, my experience with the leisure centre has been very pleasant. The staff are friendly and helpful and always seem to have a smile on their faces.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Barry_simmonds1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Barry,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your daughters swimming lesson. It is great to hear that she is progressing so well and that you are receiving feedback from our teachers where possible.

In regards to your comments about one of our teachers we have been looking into this, would you be able to forward any further information to lauren.king@serco.com for us to investigate further? We have been inducting a few new teachers recently and would like to hope that this was the case during your visit, however are concerned by some of your comments.

We are glad to hear you enjoy your visits with us and look forward to seeing you and your Daughter again soon!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We booked the pool for private use for 15 ten year old girls and they had “simply the best time ever” (apparently). Fantastically helpful and attentive Saffron was their host, who made sure all the girls stayed together getting changed etc. then looked out for them in the pool - tending also to a banged head and a banged knee.

We would thoroughly recommend a party. Make sure you ask for Saffron :o)

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank ChrisSamandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your Birthday Party here at Maidstone Leisure Centre. We are glad to hear that the girls had such a great experience with us!

Your comments will be passed onto the whole team here & our party team. Special thanks will be passed onto Saffron and this is great to hear.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Medway Mermaids Synchronised Swimming Club recently held its annual show at Maidstone Leisure Centre despite the Beast from the East trying to disrupt our plans. Communication was great on the day and all the staff that we encountered were very helpful. A special mention for Gareth and Ashley who made sure that everything ran smoothly and went out of their way to make sure we were totally happy with our visit. The venue itself was great - spacious, clean and tidy with plenty of free car parking. I'm sure we will be back.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 48MrsB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent pool hire. We are glad that the Beast from the East didn't affect your booking and that all could go ahead so successfully.

Your thanks have been passed onto Gareth and Ashley and the whole team here at Maidstone Leisure Centre. This is great to hear!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our facility in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Today, after visiting a couple of weeks ago to see the SwimMobility team and what was on offer, we decided to travel from Ashford to have a go at the swimming sessions for people with disabilities. As Ashford have nothing similar. We cannot fault the team from SwimMobility and Maidstone Leisures life guards all VERY helpful. The pool facilities we also cannot fault. Three pools on offer all with hoists that lower into the pools.

My friend Caz is used to bringing her mobile hoist with her as she needs it to transfer from her chair. It would be great if more places supplied things like mobile hoists as they are quite heavy to lug from van to destination. We had to use Caz's mobile hoist today to get her from wheelchair to pool hoist which can be tricky in new situations. Again the swim mobility team were on standby to help.

The swim was great, Caz tried the aqua fit session and thoroughly enjoyed it after that finished there wasn't enough time to try any of the other pools as they only have the 1hr 30mins sessions, this would be great if it could be extended or maybe offered on a different day as Caz has a carer who swims with her so doesn't need assistance in the water.

Our only niggle is the facilities to change after swimming well for Caz there aren't any she has to drive 10 mins to the YMCA building or home again wet to get changed this is because although there are disabled changing rooms none of them have ceiling track hoists or beds to lie on.

This would have been a 5 star review had this been in place. Caz will carry on using this session on a Tuesday and we hope maybe over time this could be put in place so Caz can get changed after a swim.
The swim Mobility team are very passionate about getting this in place and we are happy to help with this process giving ideas what could work, and we hope they get the funding to do it.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Tinkabelltwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your recent visit.

We are glad to hear that you all had a great visit and swim with us during our specific session. We pride ourselves on our facilities to enable more people to use or swimming pools and try new activities. It is disappointing to hear that Caz could not get changed following her visit here and your comments will be passed on to our operational team to review.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I am an off peak member and the classes, pools and gym are covered in my membership. The staff are friendly and helpful and the classes are very good. The gym is well equipped and there are rarely machines out of order.

On the negative side, there are often long queues to get in since the membership barrier hasn't worked and from the new year the classes that I have attended seem to be overbooked. Please can this be addressed?

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CorkerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your membership. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your glasses and gym workouts!

We unfortunately have been experiencing issues in regards to the repair of the membership barrier. It is a manufacturing issue which is out of our control which is delaying repair to this piece of equipment.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews