We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hop Pole
Nearby Hotels
US$108
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tudor House Hotel(Tewkesbury)
US$88
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tewkesbury Park(Tewkesbury)
US$150
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel(Tewkesbury)(Great Value!)
US$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Tewkesbury Hotel(Tewkesbury)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Upton upon Severn)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Upton upon Severn)
US$88
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
558
395
65
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
395
65
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe riverbeer gardenwetherspoon hotelsbanqueting hallhistoric buildinglovely gardenbottled waterexcellent valueoak beamsnooks and cranniesoriginal featurescar parkcentral locationlovely old buildingsunday nightcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This is a Wetherspoons establishment and so do not expect 'posh'. Having said that, The Royal Hop Pole is an historic building that has been sympathetically renovated and is an interesting place to stay located very near to the wonderful Tewkesbury Abbey. The room was spacious and well equiped though we found the bed a bit on the firm side. Two of our pet hates are waiting for hot water to emerge from the taps and bedside lights too dim to read by. Neither of these were experienced here and the TV was a good size. Reception was very friendly and efficient and we would recommend staying here. Car parking was free and convenient. Food was standard Wetherspoons and the service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
1  Thank PeterandMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed good service and value during your stay with us. It is great to know that the hot water and the bedside lights were as you like, and that you found the TV to be a good size too. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I have been there a few days ago. The meal was ultimate delicious, the portions was enormous and the beer was fantastic. I eat five time. Every dinner was pleasure for me and my friends. I recommend the pub.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed all of your meals here, and that the beer was fantastic too. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Stayed at The Royal Hop Pole on the way up from West Cornwall to visit family in the North-West.
We had stayed here once before, fourteen months earlier, and we ended up in the same room, overlooking the river and the Hams beyond.
Fantastic value for money all round - accommodation, food, drink. Wonderful, tasty breakfast for less than a fiver!
Together with the efficient and friendly staff, this is a brilliant place to stay. Might have to consider a slightly longer stay, as Tewkesbury itself, like the Royal Hop Pole, is so full of character.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marlon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and found it good value for money. It is so nice to know that you found the team to be friendly and efficient too. The Royal Hop Pole is definitely a good base for exploring Tewkesbury and the surrounding areas - we hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We stayed here in February overnight, staff were friendly and room was lovely and warm when we arrived pictures tells it is like what it says on the tin full of character. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we had stayed a little longer because we did not really have time to have a look around but what we did see was lovely and we will be definitely going back worth every penny.

Room Tip: Our room was facing gardens at the side of the building and was ok.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in a lovely warm room in a 'not so warm' February! Our hotel definitely has lots of character, and we are pleased you find the pictures represent us well. We are pleased to know that you will be returning, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Having stayed here 27 years ago we made a return visit to this hotel which is now part of Wetherspoons. Although it has been reconfigured downstairs the character and vibe is still the same. Throughly enjoyed the weekend and all that Tewksbury has to offer. The hotel is very central and allows easy access to the Abbey, shops and a range of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to The Royal Hop Pole, and found the character and vibe to be the same as it was 27 years ago. We are pleased to know that you also enjoyed our central location and all that Tewkesbury has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews