We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad quality meat”
Review of The Colebrook

The Colebrook
Ranked #112 of 331 Restaurants in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this pub this evening as it was rated quite highly on trip adviser - one sirloin steak - medium to well done please, and a rib eye surf and turf thank you very much - sirloin was the most toughest, grisliest fattiest sirloin I have ever had the misfortune to order, and the rib eye - ? Was the back end of a rump or a bit of beef skirting at best - rib eye was ordered medium but plate was swimming in blood with 9 tepid prawns chucked into the mix! Surfing in a bloody watery liquid! Absolutely disgusting!
Anyone who has any sort of food hygiene certificate should know that is a recipe for disaster..... staff were very good and completely understood our complaint - but really? You serve and charge for this??? no quality control in the kitchen, as these two very poor peices of meat would've been rejected and returned to the supplier!
We were given a refund, but that's not the point here, I'd rather have had a really nice steak meal which we were looking forward to... very disappointing, won't bother again, sad really - front of house staff were great!

1  Thank SusieBV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Susie.

Im sorry for the disapointing visit you had.

We do have quality controls in place but however on thos occasion something has gone wrong.

I am happy however that the team were able to adapt and try to resolve the issue as quickly and professionally as they could they are truely an asset to the colebrook.

However we should not have got ourselves into this situation.

I hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Shiv and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018

We came here for lunch during half-term and had a lovely experience. The pub is an Ember Inn so we knew the menu would be fairly reliable. We had traditional fish & chips, and pie & chips, and both were very tasty. We were told there was a half an hour wait on the food but it came within about 20 minutes.

The service was very good as the waiter was pleasant and attentive, which you don't always expect within a chain pub. All in all we had a nice dining experience and will definitely be returning in the near future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4Sophie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thats so amazing you had such a lovely experience here.
Its great to hear that all the staff hard work is noticed.
Hope you visit soon.
Shiv ans the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

What a lively busy place I didn't think we'd get a table it was that busy. We found a table and ordered our food at the bar. Drinks were purchased and had a very good selection . Starters came within 10 minutes they were hot well presented and very tasty. Main courses were 10 minutes later both steaks and cooked to perfection and well presented again and hot . Bar staff and waiters were very pleasant meal excellent and drinks good would definitely visit again

Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you Steven for your rating and feedback; so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon. Shivaun and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Usual pub grub. Hunters chicken was a small piece of chicken with an even smaller piece of bacon round it with too few chips .
Very busy on a Saturday lunch time so some food must be okay. I shan’t be going back.

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you Sue for your honest review.
We pride excellent service and care in all aspect.
However your expectations were not met.
I really do hope you will visit us
Kind regards
Shiv and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Hi, Recently met up with friends at this venue. Lovely atmosphere, good meal and reasonably priced. The only negative was that they ran out of the ale was drinking.
Did not dampen our evening.
Would recommend this for a casual night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tezmo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Colebrook, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback glad you enjoyed your time with us hope to see you again soon. Shivaun and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colebrook also viewed

 
Solihull, West Midlands
Balsall Common, Solihull
 

Been to The Colebrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing