We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B 10 minutes walk from town”

Lancaster Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lancaster Town House
Ranked #8 of 13 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Stayed for one night at the very reasonably priced Lancaster Town House which is situated 5mins off the M6 by car and yet only 10mins walk from edge of town. Private off road car parking to rear of the property. Warm welcome from owner who gladly pointed out various places of interest on a local town map. Room very clean and tidy. Excellent breakfast with good choice of food. Would recommend.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stopped at Lancaster Town House for about 3 weeks whilst awaiting completion on a house purchase. The rooms are spotlessly clean with a great breakfast. Margaret, the owner is a lovely lady who will go out of her way to help you. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

I turned up here quite late after a nightmare somewhere else and Margaret was vert accommodating. The breakfast was fab and I felt very looked after! The only thing I could fault is the location but I had my car so it wasn't bad for me, a great little B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HunkyDory73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

couldn,t fault this b+b,margaret is most inviting and informative.the room was immaculate and comfortable.the road outside is busy ,but having a room at the back made a difference.the breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice and choosing the night before was no problem to us as it was ready at the time we chose.a pleasant 15 min walk along the canal brought us into the city centre with a wide choice of shops,resteraunts and pubs.all in all a very enjoyable weekend away.we never had any problems with the water and the shower was fine.

Room Tip: ask for a back room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed at Lancaster Town House, a small B&B, while attending our daughter's graduation at the University. The main problem with this B&B was the showers – on the two mornings we were there, we couldn’t have a shower before breakfast because the water pressure was too low - to make it worse, the shower came on for just long enough to make us wet, and then cut off! When we mentioned this to the proprietor, she told us that this was due to the generally low water pressure in the area, and there was nothing that could be done about it, but we have stayed in several B&Bs in this area, our daughter has lived in Lancaster for three years, and we have never had this problem before.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable; we had a double and a twin room, the twin was quite large, but the double was extremely small, it would have been a good sized single. On the second day we were there we didn't leave until 11am, partly due to the difficulty with the showers – we had to have showers after breakfast, when the demand had reduced! - and when we got back that evening the room hadn't been cleaned, it seems we 'missed our slot' by going out late!

Breakfast was OK, had to be ordered the night before - not a problem, but as the dining room wasn't big enough for everyone to eat at the same time there were two sittings - 7.30 and 8.30 on weekdays, 8 & 9 at weekends. Time slots had to be booked the night before and if your required slot was booked, you had no option but to take the alternative sitting. I guess it might have been more flexible if there were less people staying.

The location is good for the centre of Lancaster, about a mile away. The B&B is on a busy road so there is a lot of traffic noise, the rooms at the back are quiet at the weekend but there is a large industrial estate at the back so during the week there are a lot of lorries coming and going in the early hours.

The price was reasonable - £50 for a double including breakfast, £55 for a twin. I suppose it was worth what we paid, but I’d have paid more to have a shower that worked. A huge disadvantage in my opinion. It’s fair enough having set times for breakfast but one expects to have a shower on demand!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
59.6 km away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
60 km away
Old Station House Bed & Breakfast
59.4 km away
No photo provided
St Thomas Cottage
#11 of 13 in Lancaster
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.1 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,391 reviews
60.2 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,096 reviews
60.2 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Town House

Address: 11-12 Newton Terrace, Lancaster LA1 3PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: RM240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Town House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lancaster Town House Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing