We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and So Welcoming”

Sultan of Lancaster
Get food delivered
Ranked #9 of 189 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sultan of Lancaster immediately makes you feel like you’re in for a treat as soon as you enter. Housed in a disused church on Brock Street in the city centre, not far from Lancaster Cathedral, this suave Indian eatery sets the scene with beautiful pillars, detailed carvings and warm lighting. Next comes the feast – and it sure befits a king. Proudly halal, family-friendly and sensitive to varying tastebuds, Sultan of Lancaster lays out an array of stunning Indian and international starters to begin with, perfect for sharing among a group. For the main event, treat yourself to something new with Sultan of Lancaster’s special dishes, such as a super spicy salmon masala balanced with fragrant herbs and bright citrus, or tuck into the Sultan Mix for a carnivorous carousel of succulent lamb chops, seekh kebab, chicken tikka and tandoori.
Reviewed 2 June 2021

Great hospitality from the young front of staff member, Mo.

He welcomed us as soon as we entered and checked in on us regularly.

The food was as tasty as we have ever had before and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

I not one for leaving reviews typically, but this one deserved it. My wife and I loved it!

Will visit again for sure.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Trail620684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Our family would like to thank Sultan of Lancaster for such a wonderful Donation of meals. Your generosity and hospitality during this tough time was greatly appreciated by the whole family. We would highly recommend the Sultan, such kind and caring people! Thank you again from our family to you all. We wish you all the best in the future and we will see you soon!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Jradley2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Best Indian restaurant around , Ash the manager brilliant bloke made us feel very welcome . 5* service highly recommend food was excellent

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank jamesclappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Myself and my friend booked sat 22nd 830pm
We was looked after by Mo who later found out he’s the owner’s Brother.
He went above and beyond.
We had a drink on the house as he had forgotten to give us cutlery with our starter but after that he couldn’t do enough for us made our visit very enjoyable. The food was great and although (later found out) that all the staff was new and training we was checked upon regular to see if all was ok and anything more was required. At the end we was offered a tub to take away any of the food that we couldn’t manage and was given a complimentary ice-cream which Mo said was fresh as he had picked it up from the farm that day.. Ice-cream was probably the best Ice-cream I’ve ever tasted. Which Mo kindly told us where he had got it from.

I will definitely Return again.

Ice-cream was Mango and Passionfruit in case anyone wants to try it.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank bumbles1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely meal last night had fish masalla starter and tandoori king prawn main ... the best Indian prawns iv ever had , the garlic Nan was also very good , great service from ash he even gave us some complimentary mango ice cream will be returning again . Thanks

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank C613BHalessandrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sultan of Lancaster also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to Sultan of Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.