We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Twine Cottage

Twine Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twine Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Twine Cottage
Twine Cottage in the snow
Twine Cottage in the snow
Twine Cottage cosy lounge
Twine Cottage kitchen
Twine Cottage breakfast area
Somewhere to hang your coats at Twine Cottage
Twine Cottage's lovely bedroom
Twine Cottage bathroom
Twine Cottage bathroom
Spring time at Twine Cottage
All set up for tea outside Twine Cottage
Our next door neighbour house
Chipping Campden
A typical Cotswolds street
Chipping Campden High Street
Pastoral beauty in Chipping Campden
Back Ends
Broad Campden, near Chipping Campden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ken554
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Dealing with Rosie to book, pay and get information about the cottage was a pleasure. All our queries were promptly dealt with and the details for our arrival, stay and departure were all clearly explained. The cottage was exactly as we imagined it to be. Cosy, low ceilings, exposed beams with a wonderful sense of history. It had all of the amenities you need, from a practical kitchen with washer to a wonderful large bathroom offering a modern shower or a traditional bath. The bedroom was a little tight but nothing you can't get around. The village itself was beautiful. We spent time exploring there, including the recommended pubs. The cottage is located on a parallel street behind the High Street making it an easy walk. Our pick of pubs was 'The Eight Bells' - good food, beer and it had wi-fi access.We did one of the many walks available and enjoyed it immensely. As we had a hire car, we were able to travel by car to Oxford and Stratford-upon-Avon for fantastic day trips, but it was always so nice to get back to the village and "our" cottage. Parking for the cottage was easy and not a problem. A wonderful part of England to visit and a wonderful cottage to stay in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the the old English charm and history of the cottage.
Liked least: Smallish bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bonny08
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Could be perfect”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed in lovely Chipping Campden, the Cotswolds lived up to our expectations despite bad weather. The cottage was average but with a few changes could be perect.

Loved: the bathroom, parking outside the cottage and the helpful housekeeper.

Disliked: the fake fire :-( found the bed uncomfortable, cooking utensils cheap and worn. The cottage would benefit from 2 small sofas instead of an armchair. Also disliked doing my hair and make-up on the landing as no mirror near the dressing table!

Disliked most of all the owner phoning on 2 consecutive nights to tell us we had not paid the security deposit (even though we had been told it was not due to be paid until 2 weeks before the holiday due to start) this left us feeling like we were not to be trusted. Very nearly cancelled the holiday as the security deposit was something added after we had already booked anyway.

Would visit Chipping Campden again but not this particular cottage....... spend a bit of money and make it perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom
Liked least: Worn out pans
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2013
I am sorry that you did not find everything to your liking at Twine Cottage. As you could read from our visitors comments book at the cottage– the majority –if not all - who have stayed at Twine Cottage absolutely love it and only a few have found faults which we always try to rectify. We must be doing something right as so many return.
We did have a few visitors say the bed was a little uncomfortable, so we added a new thick mattress topper and we have since had only nice words about it, one visitor wanted to sleep in it all day as she found it so comfy!
I am not sure how you missed the mirror above the dressing table, although it may be a little small, there is also another mirror by the bed. There is also a very good mirror with a light in the bathroom, which is next to the bedroom

As the cottage has a thatched roof we were advised not to put in a real log fire and so felt that an electric log effect fire was the best alternative. You must have quite liked it, as I understand that you rang my housekeeper up to ask her for new bulbs for the fire. Most people find it cosy and warm. I think two sofas in the sitting room would rather swamp the room and lots of visitors have commented how they like to snuggle in our armchairs. I will of course check the kitchen utensils and I am sorry if you found that they were worn. We do change them fairly regularly as we have so many people at the cottage that they do get a lot of wear.

You did book Twine Cottage 9 months before you came to stay there and that was through an agency. Since doing many of my own bookings through Holiday Lettings, I was advised to always ask for a damage deposit and this is normally paid at the same time as the holiday booking payment is made. I informed the agency that I would like them to ask for a security deposit too for all their bookings for Twine. She omitted to tell me that her normal procedure is to ask that security deposits be paid only 2 weeks before visitors come to stay. As I was going to be away during your stay and I wanted to insure that there was someone you could contact should you need anything whilst at the cottage, I called you to ask for your email address as I wanted to give you our housekeepers contact details. In the course of the conversation I did indeed mention the security deposit to you as it was less than 3 weeks from your arrival and I didn’t want there to be any misunderstanding. My second call was purely because the email I had sent you with my housekeepers number was returned, as I had taken down the wrong address and so called you for the correct one.
Again, I am sorry that you did not find the cottage up to your expectations and I hope it did not spoil your Christmas .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diddleydo...
Ilford
1 review
“Cosy cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful old cottage.It provided us with everything we needed to spend a fantastic holiday with our dog. Well located to explore the Cotswolds, and within minutes of the town centre at Chipping Campden and the Cotswold Way for doggy walks. All the amenities were catered for...pretty little garden with seating area, cosy sitting room and dining table, well equipped clean kitchen and to top it all, an amazing modern bathroom and comfy bed ! Everything very well arranged and plenty of information supplied for further exploration of the Cotswolds .Parking no problem directly outside in the lane. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalba01
Bergamo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing