We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Silk Mill Cottage

Silk Mill Cottage front garden and entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Silk Mill Cottage front garden and entrance
Silk Mill Cottage, Chipping Campden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Silk Mill Cottage front garden and entrance
Silk Mill Cottage, Chipping Campden
The gravel path to the cottage from the parking spaces
Sitting room with sofas, TV and a delightful little log burner
Spacious, open plan kitchen / dining room / sitting room
Bright dining area with table and chairs
Modern, bright kitchen with utility room and w/c
Twin bedroom with en-suite bathroom
en-suite bathroom with shower over bath (option to share with single bedroom)
3rd bedroom with sofa bed
Entrance and front garden / patio
Lovely log burner with initial logs / kindling provided
Open plan sitting room and dining room
Peaceful courtyard with table and chairs, part open and part under cover
Table and chairs on the front patio
View of the front garden from the kitchen
Fresh bread, fruit & veg, cheese & wine shops only a short walk from the cottage
A well looked after garden awaits!
Chipping Campden's beautifully curved high street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DJW2309
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply perfect in every way”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I had the pleasure of spending a weekend at Silk Mill Cottage recently.
Perhaps the best way I can sum it up is to say that we all wanted to move in and stay for ever. We didn't want to go home. It is quite simply the most perfect place to unwind and relax, with everything you could wish for, both inside the cottage and outside in the surrounding area. We have stayed in several cottages over the years, all have been lovely, but Silk Mill Cottage is in a class of its own. I advise anyone not to hesitate, just book it, go and see for yourself.....you certainly won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We feel exactly the same. The owners of Silk Mill Cottage put so much time and thought into everything to ensure guests' have a memorable holiday. Thank you for booking with us again. See you in June!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could have just one wish for the New Year - it would be to return to Silk Mill Cottage for another stay.”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at Silk Mill Cottage in August. We have traveled throughout the world and stayed at many 5 star locations, but our favorite stay of all time was here. Perfectly located in the heart of Chipping Campden, but so secluded and quiet – you would think you were down a long country lane. The cottage is completely new inside with every accommodation and guest comfort satisfied. Chipping Campden is a perfect Cotswold location with a great co-op grocery, butcher, baker, and even a wine and cheese shop. Pubs and restaurants enough to try a new one every night of the week, but we found it difficult to leave the comfort and pleasure of Silk Mill Cottage in evening – opting to cook in, which I never do! A regular stop to browse and shop at Frankie Doodles is a must. Our home in Phoenix, AZ is a long way from Silk Mill Cottage, but we will return someday and fulfillment my wish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention taken by the owners to ensure the highest comfort and pleasure of their guests.
Liked least: Leaving - I could have stayed for months.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2015
Dear Connie & Bill,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Silk Mill Cottage and Chipping Campden. When we read reviews like this, it reminds us and our cottage owners of why we are in this business. To hear about how wonderful a holiday was because of the cottage (and traditional Cotswold town of course) is truly lovely and so thank you to you both for choosing to stay with us; we really look forward to welcoming you again in the future. The owners of the cottage have also asked us to thank you for taking the time to review and for your kind words.

Andy & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrises
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a relaxing and enjoyable week at the Silk Mill Cottage and really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our group consisted of myself, my husband and our two year old, as well as my parents. The accommodation suited all of us, having two bathrooms was great and my son enjoyed the open plan living area.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything you could want, the under floor heating downstairs was lovely.
The cottage is situated close to the heart of chipping campden, there are plenty of amenities within walking distance, fantastic bakery, green grocer, butcher and cheese/wine shop as well as a great selection of restaurants.
Would definitely recommend and would return.
Thank you for having us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
We really appreciate your review. Glad you loved the cottage and Chipping Campden. Hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chip2013
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like being in your home away from home”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On Sheep Street which is just a block off the main street. House is NEW inside..Heated floors covered outdoor rear patio along with outdoor patio area in front. Bedrooms are upstairs. VERY quiet area. 50 feet to Campden Coffee Shop. Don't forget to say hello to Fred..he is there during the week. No need for a car here. You can walk to all the food and pubs you want. Be sure to check out Frankie Doodle and Orchard Layne. We only stayed a week but if it had been available we would have stayed longer. We will be back again..and soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry the cottage was not available for longer ~ it has been extremely popular and booked out every week of the season. The owners have done a great job preparing the cottage as a holiday let.
We're pleased you had a great time in Campden & hope to hear from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raine G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a place! Beautiful, quirky and superb value - did we really stay here?”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We looked at every self catering place in Chipping Campden for a recent celebratory stay, I can honestly say that I think we found the pick of the crop! From the moment we walked up the pathway, to stepping through the front door (with a homemade cake and flowers to welcome us!) we felt like we'd walked into another world...it's seriously, beautiful. The decor is a cracking mix between clean, comfortable, glamorous and quirky - with a good pinch of fun thrown in! We really didn't want to leave...I won't spoil the surprise but just check out the downstairs WC...and you've got a wonderful little (covered) outside space with fairy lights and a great view of the stars...lots of great places to check out nearby too. What a find! Please have us back soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We're so happy you loved Silk Mill Cottage - it really is a fantastic holiday cottage isn't it!
We would love for you to come & stay again ~ we offer £25.00 off for all returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$251
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing