We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Amlwch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed in February for one night. Check in easy, asked for quiet room and fair play was given the last room in hotel 335 at the end of the top floor overlooking a lake (and carpark).
Room was clean & quite large with sofa bed as well although there was only 2 of us.
It was a Saturday, and noises could be heard in corridors etc, don't think the walls are that thick!
But it was the soft bed that made us unconfortable more than anything, hate it when you roll together in a dip in the middle!
Breakfast was ok, I wanted the fresh fruit, but this amounted to tinned pears-nothing else unless I look some out of a fruit bowl and peeled it!
Pastries were nice, husband said the sausages were'nt that good quality. Would stay again if in Manchester for a reason and could get a good deal. Don't expect to walk to anywhere from the hotel though!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llamydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
THank you for all of your comments.
I am surprised that you had issues with the mattress as all of the mattresses in the hotel where replaced in Jan 2011.
The breakfast is brand standard and I suppose is complimentary. We do offer fresh Apples aswell as Oranges for breakfast.
There are easy bus routes into the city centre which takes only 10 minutes from the bus stop at the top of the lane from the hotel.
I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are in the area

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    239
    103
    37
    21
See reviews for
170
139
37
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Standard Holiday inn, premises and proposition...prebooked, arrived, set off for the eveniing, returned. all right so far. Strange, we thought, to find another guest sitting in the corridor in just boxer shorts, on his cell phone. Why? because the rooms were too hot and ours would not turn down we discovered. Then we went to sleep, butfor just a while because the night consisted of dozing punctuated by slamming doors, shouting, noise, conversations. We complained at receptionand and had a not very sincere apolgy. I pointed out another hotel chain would make some amends. Nothing! I asked if there was an official complaints process, and was then told, reluctnantly, to go to the website. Not a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear nicks51

Thankyou for posting a review of your stay with us. I apologise that your review has not been responded to sooner and it is now more than a year since your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay with us was not a great one. We have now improved our services and stepped up our patrols of corridors at nights to limit the impact of noise on other guests. I hope that you will now reconsider our hotel on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

By Holiday Inn Express standards - not very good. I usually choose Holiday Inn/Express but this hotel was a let down. There is no restaurant so your evening meal is from a menu left by the local takeaway shops. Not close to any attractions/sights so getting into town is a bus or taxi ride. I've had the opportunity to stay since, but chose not to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. We do offer a full dinner menu in the hotel and have done so since December 2010. The menu consistently changes each night to give more choices and is available from 6.00pm to 10.00pm every evening. We obviously actively encourage people to dine with us rather than to purchase takeaways.

If you do stay in the area regularly I do hope that you will give us another chance.

Please contact me direct so I can offer you a preferable rate on gm@hiexpressmanchester.co.uk

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Booked a smoking room for one night on 28th January 11 prior to holiday and again on 12th Feb on our return.
Had prepaid, so reception gave us key and we went to room door. Door had notice saying 'This is a No Smoking Room'. Room next door and remainder along corridor made no mention of smoking and appeared to be for smokers. Around hotel there were signs relating to smoking like 'Not in Lift' etc
Went to reception and staff confirmed that I had booked smoking room but since I booked it they had changed the smoking policy and no smoking was now allowed. i should have been contacted..... wasn't.
It was too late to find anywhere else so had to stay but cancelled the night of 12th Feb and eventually got a full refund.
Was quite busy at breakfast when we went to dining area in morning with approx 80 persons within. For some reason the staff seemed to be unable to produce any more than about 12 sausages at a time. Each time they came out there was a mad dash.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I am sorry about your stay at the hotel. All of our rooms are now non smoking, and the conversion took place in June 2011.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights for a family wedding. Hotel is a typical budget hotel with added luxury of a bar and free breakfast. Rooms were clean and reasonably well looked after, although it had had some repairs done. Beds were OK if a little jittery, major issue was the quilt which was exactly the width of the bed, so with a person under the quilt, it becomes too small and as you toss and turn in the night it easily slips off. Why they can't get a correct size quilt beats me.

On a positive side the hotel is well staffed, with good helpful staff, which is a significant thing in a budget hotel, other chains usually have person looking after everything and failing on every count - not so here so 5 stars for that one Holiday Inn.

There is a pub restaurant next door, a typical Harvester type place, which on the Internet gets horrible reviews, but we had no problems, food was fine and we had a good night. I mention this as the second problem with the hotel is the area in which it is located - one of the worst in Manchester, so I wouldn't recommend walking about.

The breakfast was filling if a little limited - the usual help yourself buffet -tea, coffee, juices, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, beans, buns and bread. Yes that's about the lot - a starange mix with no bacon, but as its free and filling, was OK for 2 days but if you stayed longer would probably drive you to the McDonalds over the street.

Overall, we had a good stay, without complaints. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Dodgy area, so be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for all of your comments. I will take on board the negative aspects of your stay. The area the hotel is located in is in between the districts of Gorton and Denton, these are obviously suburbs of the large city of Manchester. I can honestly say that we have never had any issues in the hotel with security or misconduct and our regular customers are happy to stay in the area. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Many Thanks

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
12.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
5.0 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): RM277 - RM798
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing