We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Good clean hotel within easy access of city centre with all its bars and restaurants - Saturday night can be a bit noisy on Portland Street till about 2am but this is to be expected on a main road with all its bars etc

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
There are newer reviews for Townhouse Hotel Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This very centrally located hotel is clean, tidy and efficiently run. The room I stayed in was very spacious and the bed comfortable. I had a lot of trouble with the hot water but i think that was largely my fault. Must say that my map apps seemed determined to find the longest way to take me anywhere in manchester. Didn't eat here but can say the Vienna Cafe a few blocks down near Albert square does a well prices very edible cooked breakfast with excellent coffee

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Brianthejust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoued a lovely Afternoon Tea with my girlfriend's before carrying onto several different bars around Manchester for cocktails. Had a lovely glass of Prosecco with our A/Tea. Plenty of sandwiches, scones and cakes, all very yummy. Nice relaxing atmosphere. Sat on an oval table rather than a rectangle one, which was great, as we could all speak to each other quite easily. Very comfortable surroundings No rush to leave, staff happy for us to chat and take our time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sugarpuff1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We came to Manchester for a birthday on a Saturday for one night. The hotel is in such a convenient location for the city centre and easily located. The room and bathroom were nice and clean. Only thing was there wasn't a remote to control the air conditioning unit, which was minor in all honesty. The staff were very polite and engaging! Nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We were gifted afternoon tea here by our friends and decided to use our voucher on a Saturday afternoon. The hotel was easy to find and where we were seated was very comfortable and clean. There were quite a few other groups also having afternoon tea, so our expectations were quite high as it's clearly a popular place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the free glass of prosecco was lovely. However that is where the good comments end.

The afternoon tea itself was very poorly done. The food was not tasty or inventive. We had 4 little sandwiches each - egg mayo, tuna mayo, cheese and pickle and ham with salad cream. All 3 were made with cheap, shop bought, thin bread and the filling on each was very bland and disappointing. The scones were large but very dry. There was not enough jam for both of us, however the clotted cream was delicious. The final tier of our afternoon tea consisted of a pistachio macaroon, chocolate eclair and a miniature Victoria sponge. These were ok, but not great and definitely not worth the price our friends paid.

The staff we could not fault however, but the food was enough to put us off from coming again.

Overall, very disappointing. Have had much better afternoon teas for a similar or cheaper price. Would not recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Minnie192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,545 reviews
0.0 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
657 reviews
0.5 km away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 120 in Manchester
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Manchester

Address: Hotel Manchester Hotel Manchester 101 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: RM408 - RM1,270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the beating heart of Manchester's city centre, the Townhouse Hotel is the perfect boutique-style hotel for your visit to this exciting and cosmopolitan city. Set in a former cotton warehouse, the hotel has been given a fantastic £3.5 Million makeover and now boasts the perfect blend of style, space and comfort. Townhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre for the Manchester shopping district, theatre, exhibitions and two of the country's biggest football clubs as well as the city's vibrant nightlife. Relax in our stylish and comfortable guest rooms after a busy day's shopping and exploring - then why not check out our stylish 101 Brasserie for delicious dishes cooked with the best seasonal produce available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Manchester
Best Western Manchester
Manchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing