We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and great value!”
Review of New Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Union Hotel
Ranked #78 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed here on a Thurs & Fri night, regardless of some of the poor comments below, this hotel is GREAT location on Canal Street, Worth the money. The website does state it is above a bar. The Friday night music could be heard from the room, but this was expected and was only until 2:30am. For location you REALLY cannot get a better hotel. Bathroom was clean, modern and of a decent size. Modern room clean and tidy etc. The 24hour access door/staircase was being painted while I was there. Theres nothing I would moan or complain about with this hotel. The staff are friendly and I felt safe and comfortable here on what was my 3rd stay with them,

Room Tip: Great location, great value for money and really good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

The staff are really friendly and helpful, the accommodation was great considering the cheap prices, and generally a lot nicer than some other places I've stayed in. I would definitely recommend this to the anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have been genuinely surprised about the reviews about this hotel. Granted it isn't 5* luxury but it doesn't profess to be either. On both of my visits it has been exceptionally clean. It is in an ideal location and is a lot nicer than some city centre hotels that I have paid double for! I stayed here with my partner over a year ago and again a fortnight ago for two nights on both occasions and even since our last visit there appeared to be significant improvements to the room (although we didn't stay in the same room on both visits). It is worth mentioning that the hotel is over a club, but it has never been a problem; (the only noise we heard were the pigeons in the morning!) All in all, if you want a good, clean, cheap hotel in a perfect location, you cant go much wrong than this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Me and my boyfriend went there while we were over in manchester for a concert. The whole trip was a birthday present and this seemed like the ideal location.

I paid a deposit before I got there and when we did arrive, we got shown to our room which was dark and dingy. It only had a small window which didn't open very wide. I had to go to the pound shop to stock up on antibacterial wipes and bleach because the bathroom was disgusting. The shower door was literally about to fall off and there was barely any room to swing a cat.

Anyway, we went shopping and I noticed I had 3 missed calls on my phone from the hotel. When i called them there was no answer. We got back to the hotel a few hours later and the manager knocked on our door and told us we hadn't paid enough money to secure our booking. I went up with him to the office to pay what needed to be paid when he asked me for the full amount. Surely the deposit would be enough to secure your booking. We hadn't even been there for one full day yet and he wanted me to pay for the whole 4 day trip. Biggest regret now is that I did, because after 4 full days they wouldn't have got half of what they were charging.

In four days, our bedsheets were changed once. And that was only because we asked for them to be changed. The tea tray was never changed so we sat with dirty cups in our room for 4 days. The bin wasnt changed so we were filling up tesco bags with rubbish which we had to set beside the wall. It was too cold to leave the window half open all day so the room started to smell because it wasn't being cleaned.

Vile, disgusting place. I complained to the hotel and didn't hear anything back. Will NEVER stay in this dirty disgusting hotel ever again. Oh and the breakfast that we paid £4 each for on the first morning.....2 cold rounds of toast and butter and a cup of tea. Do one....they saw us coming with that one!

Room Tip: Don't stay here - there's an eazysleep up the road and even though the reviews on tripadviso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burnsy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel Sunday to Wednesday. It is an entirely acceptable cheap hotel in Manchester centre. Location is excellent and we paid £55 per night for a twin room. The double bed in room 4 feels on the verge of collapse, and the window can't be locked, which isn't great security wise. Bathroom is tiny but functional, and we had no problems with the hot water (as other reviewers have indicated).

I would stay there again, but only if I wanted a bed and a shower. Robin, the manager, was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#62 of 120 in Manchester
755 reviews
0.3 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.6 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#70 of 120 in Manchester
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
1.0 km away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
925 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Union Hotel

Address: 111 Princess Street, Manchester M1 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: RM186 - RM911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the New Union, you can benefit from: * Great value rooms from 40 pounds * 24-hour access key fob * Privacy: en-suite bathroom in every room * FREE Internet access via Wi-Fi * Convenient location near: o Gay village, Chinatown, shops & Palace theater o Piccadilly & Oxford Rd train stations o Chorlton St coach station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your New Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Union Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing