We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$190
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$156
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Suites(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$66
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$268
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pendulum Hotel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
210
218
210
157
273
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
218
210
157
273
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanchester cathedralfantastic locationprint workssaturday nightgood nights sleepprintworks
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

The title just says it all! The receptionists was lovely and looking forward to staying again very soon! We only payed 28 pound which is very cheap. Also it was very warm and comforting and the beds was very comfy and clean.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank mia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitreManagement, Reception at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Mia,

Thank you very much for your comment's regarding your recent stay here with us at The Mitre Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you are choosing to return.

Also thank you very much for your comments regarding our reception staff as this is always great feedback!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Through a warren of corridors, down flight of stairs on a filthy carpet, unlit after dark, into a room with an almost unbearably uncomfortable bed, damaged furniture, bedside lights not working, curtains that don't fully close, shower room with damp patches and dirty tile grout, a clothes moth on a hand towel.
A disgusting experience.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitreManagement, Reception at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us, your feedback is important to us.

We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience here with us, this is not what we like to hear from out guest's. May I ask was the issues raised with a member of staff during your stay to we could rectify these issues during your visit?

We are also happy to inform that we are undergoing renovations through out the rooms here at The Mitre and we do hope once complete you will visit us again, to give us the opportunity to turn your experience around.

If you would like to discuss anything else, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Kind Regards

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the hotel with a group of friends last weekend. We got one of the ‘refurbished’ rooms. It had been done to a very poor standard and felt dirty and cheap. Whenever anyone used the sink or toilet in ours or the adjacent rooms the pipes made a really load screech. The shower in our room was also broken and after sending one of the bar staff up (who couldn’t fix it) we were offered the use of the communal showers. These were horrendous, filthy and the lock on the door didn’t work. Stay away as there’s much nicer hotels in Manchester for the same price as this.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank FrancescaW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitreManagement, reception at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear FrancescaW94,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your booking here with us at The Mitre Hotel.

We are very sorry to learn that you did not have a great experience and there was some issues during your stay, may I ask who this was reported to at reception to help resolve the issue at hand? I appreciate that the shower was not fixed for you during your stay, however unfortunately we did not have maintenance available so we do still try to do our upmost when possible. We are sincerely sorry that this was not the case for yourself.

If you would like to provide some booking details we would like to look into this for you.

If you wish to discuss the matter further please contact the hotel direct and we will be happy to look into this.

Kind Regards

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter after a concert at the ritz

We had a twin room which was a bit dated where in everything had been painted over (inc light switches) rather than stripped back and started again. The shower room was very basic but useable and the wardrobe very rickety but we didn’t use it

The beds were comfy and clean, the floors a little creaky but it’s an old building so understandable

Totally worth the £31 we paid for it Would have no qualms staying here again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bekki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitreManagement, Reception at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Good Afternoon Bekki R,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay here with us.

We are very grateful for your comments we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would be returning to visit us again in the future.

We are happy to inform that we are currently undergoing some updates here at the hotel to improve our rooms, and we do hope that you find the stay more satisfactory in the future.

Kind Regards

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

The hotels own pictures are very deceptive. The rooms are extremely run down. We stayed in the family rooms and they were not pleasant. Shower head hanging off the wall, wallpaper peeling, faulty taps which were covered in tape, windows that wouldn’t shut, loud noises from pipes all night - overall, not great.
The bar downstairs is lovely though! And the location is good. Fine for stag parties, but I won’t be returning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank 826lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitreManagement, reception at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear 826lauren,

Thank you for your comment's regarding your stay here with us, I am very sorry that you did not enjoyed your time here.

May I ask who these issues were reported to, and what course of action was taken to rectify this?

We are pleased to inform that we are currently undergoing updates to improve our room's with a few rooms already completed.

If you decide to stay again, to give us the opportunity to turn your experience around, please do not hesitate to contact us so we can ensure you have a great stay.

Kind Regards

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews