We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Afternoon Tea”

Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #246 of 2,566 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A charming boutique-style hotel, Great John Street Hotel in Manchester offers relaxed British dining in sophisticated surroundings. At the centre of the Old School House is The Oyster Bar, an intimate vintage-chic bar serving traditional afternoon tea. Found in the Great John Street Hotel, The Lounge leads out onto the School Yard terrace.
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We have had a lovely afternoon here. The service from all the staff was outstanding from booking to the actual day. The food beautiful and fresh. Hotel charming and cosy. All the reviews are good and that’s why we chose it. Well done.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank blissett2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Attended a friends evening wedding reception on a Sunday evening. Was previously tipped off to ensure we brought a bucket of money as the drinks prices were steep. The wedding was held on the roof terrace which apart from the view was nice. Plenty of heat lamps on as it was just a little chilly. Staff were very attentive and apologized for the expensive drinks. £8 plus for a 175ml glass of red wine and £5 for a small bottle of Peroni. Strangely enough for an establishment marketing itself as an iconic Manchester hotel no cask ale or in fact no draught beer at all. Guests were served sliders and fries and pizza which was fine. Using Manchester airport departure lounge as a yardstick for prices they were probably on par on the wine price but even the airport has superb cask ale at under £5 a pint. Cannot make a comment about the accommodation as we did not stay at the hotel. I think the best feature has to be the staff and their great attitude. I await the manager's comment.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 844edwardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We recently had a family reunion tea party at this gorgeous hotel. The food was fabulous with vegan and veggie options provided. We had a mix of traditional and gentlemans tea and it was all fabulous. We were provided with a private dining room and the staff were amazing. If you want to celebrate anything I would recommend this hotel.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea here for a family birthday. Excellent service from the minute we arrived. The staff were friendly, welcoming and even had a quiet word with the pregnant member of our party to check what she could and couldn’t eat. They had obviously noted small comments I had made when booking and remembered them on our arrival which I was impressed with. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a mix of traditional and gentlemen’s afternoon teas and both were delicious. As we were a party of ten we had our own private ‘classroom’. Once finished we went up to the third floor for drinks on the wonderful rooftop terrace. Fabulous day and we even had sunshine! Only criticism is to eclectic hotels as when I asked if the staff got the service charge they didn’t! If you decide to try it remember to tip the staff separately and don’t pay the service charge.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lezzerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

The nicest hotel in Manchester I’ve stayed in! We came for the night last week as a family, had a drink in the bar (extremely high class and cosy) before checking in to our rooms. The cocktail i usually drink wasn’t on the menu but the lovely member of staff (A young man called Jordan I think was his name) said he could make it for me :) ... FREE Canapés came with our round of drinks, bread and Chorizo, presented lovely and tasted just as good!
Our room was amazing, a balcony, bath in the bedroom, hugeee bed, TV and sofa, double sink and the shower I just didn’t want to get out of!
We went into Spinning-fields for food and drinks (just a 3 minute walk) which was brilliant.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely and the decor in the breakfast room is amazing.

I will definitely be visiting again , Thankyou to all the staff for looking after us :)

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great John Street Hotel also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing